Inktober Day 13: Guarded

in #inktober6 years ago


The protective mother

I’ve been brainstorming ideas ahead of time for each word prompt to quickly change my mind once I pick up my pencil. I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s done this. There are days when I feel encouraged to tackle a big drawing and others when I know to take the simple route. Today was one of those big days. :)


The progress...

All my drawings are done digitally on the Procreate App using the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.


Here are the pencils that I started out with.

Then I began to ink the details in the face to set the tone.

I wasn’t sure how deep I wanted to take the blacks but I for sure wanted the mother’s features and pose to demand your attention.

I wasn’t sure how I’d ink the feathers. Should they be detailed or should the be simple? Before I could figure that out I needed outline a guide to help me breakdown the shapes and sections of the body.

I decided to commit to detail and I worked my way around the outer parts of the wings.

Then I filled in the feathers from three ends until they met in the center.

Darker lines to balance out the image so the details don’t get muddled.

And finished with a wash of color to the background and light in their eyes.

Yesterday set me a little behind on inktober but I’m still determined to catch up!


Thanks for stopping by to view my art! 🦊

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hehehe I like looking at the parent's owl's face and the way you render their fur is cute and floooofy <3.

Totaly agree im also stuned by the fur rendering 👌😮

Aww! Thanks! The fluffy feathers were my favorite part!

Perfect! I wanted the mother’s face to be striking so it seems like I did a good job there. ^^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Argh that's way too adorable send help XD I think it would have worked alright simple but I am so glad you decided to commit to detailed because this looks amazing.

Now we better move a bit before mama owl takes our faces off XD

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! Never underestimate a protective mama!

Well, I love owls, so this is right up my alley. Well done, we are all killing this #inktober challenge!

We are! I feel so inspired. I’ve always loved October for Halloween but now I’ve got something else to look forward to every year.

I love owl of them

Posted using Partiko Android

And a fine strange drawing it is! I really like it. Owls are mysterious creatures.

Thanks! They are indeed mysterious and so interest to observe. I’m really happy with the look of this since it’s a little chaotic.

Yes, it is a peculiar composition :)

BTW. I saw the Mandy film with my wife. The first part is the best thing I saw for ages. After they burned her and it went splatter it was still good, but I would have hope that they had kept her alive together with the mystic mood. That actress has the most wonderful face.

love the pose, foxi ! a parent's guardedness over their young ones is definitely captured well in this picture :) really liking how you ink the feathers also ... both on the wings/body, and on the face <3 <3 <3

Thanks spidey! The feathers were my favorite even thought they had me a little worried. Seems like my drawings get better when I’m tapped into my doodling zoned out mood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60