CheckerboardsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #innerblocks5 years ago (edited)
Many communities outside of towns (at least in the southeastern US) have a water tower to assist in supplying water to residents, but few of them are painted with designs. This one is quite distinct with its red-and-white checkerboard pattern.

Water towers help to regulate the pressure in the water lines and provide additional water flow during peak-usage times or emergencies (fires, power outages). [1]

The following is my artisitic processing of the photo of one such tower in the county, which I hope will allow the use of the #creativecoin tag. (If any leaders of the CreativeCoin tribe disagree that this counts as a "creative" image, please let me know and I will remove the tag.)

The day I took this photo, It was hot and humid, which is typical for summers in The Deep South. The temperature was in the low-90⁰s (33⁰–35⁰ C) with Heat Indices giving a "real feel" in the low 100⁰s (38⁰–41⁰ C). During high-heat/high-humidity conditions like that in The South, the blue sky looks more grayish, and the contrast between the slate-gray clouds and the blue-gray sky isn't very marked. The entire landscape often takes on a rather hazy appearance, as can be seen in the original photo, below.

Have you seen a water tower with an interesting paint job? If so, share the story in the comments! I wish I had stopped to snap a few more photos of them over the years.

 😊

SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Water Tower

!steemitworldmap 34.828275 lat -82.693889 long Pickens County, SC D3SCR


06-Sep-2019

Sort:  

A nearby town has two water tanks side by side. They have the words "HOT" and "COLD" painted on them. Picture1.png

That is hilarious! 😂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow... We dont really have water towers here that looks like that, but this one was really cool 😉 stands out and your Edit picture is even better than The original... Made it more magic.
Loved this... Here is a picture of the water towers from my birth town, they change colours every now and then in lights 😁

20190823_235713.jpg

Have a wonderful week my sweet friend and much love to You 🤗💞🌸🤗

!COFFEEA

!giphy water tower



// You can support giphy by using one of your witness votes on untersatz! //

Not exactly what I was going for... Lol
Sorry @thekittygirl 🙈😁 lol

!giphy water + tower



// You can support giphy by using one of your witness votes on untersatz! //

😂😂Hahahaha... Cute but... Nahh..
Guess Im doing it wrong!

No spaces if you want multiple search terms.
!giphy water+tower



// You can support giphy by using one of your witness votes on untersatz! //

😁 Lol... Got ya.. Thank you so much.
Now its more like it..

Posted using Partiko Android

It is rather unusual! I like your creative version of the pic, but as for the original - you can literally SEE the heat of the day in the photo. lol

Love seeing these old water towers. Looks like this town got a bit creative painting it red and white :) So fun @thekittygirl I like your creative touch!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=thekittygirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=checkerboard


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Another "project" to add to the "project list" @thekittygirl, now we have the "water tower project"!
Now I'll be on the lookout for one to share with you, I like these projects!
And I do like the artwork, I think it is so cool and adds much more nuance to your "projects"!
Had to share on PYPT, maybe more people would come up with photos and/or stories around where they live.
I've never seen one of these around here, as I'm in a big modernized city!

I have all I can handle with the Old Barn Project and my coins & silver collection, so the Water Tower Project is a "no go" for me... 😂 ..although I will still snap a few pics when I see good ones! Most of the ones in this county are not painted anything but white. Thank you for sharing my post at PYPT!

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95