There's Always a Few Bugs in the System

in #insects3 years ago

Whether big or small, nature can be beautifully fascinating in the simplest of forms. Today's morning walk was a stern reminder of that when I encountered some intriguing bugs along the way. It could be that I am just easily fascinated - but there is such beauty in the design of all animals and their interaction with nature as a whole regardless of their size.

I managed to get some pictures along the way:

image.png

Every rose has its thorns:

Salticidae

But this rose has some extra security measures, above you can see a gorgeous jumping spider, stealthily perched on the petal of a rose ready to pray on any insects that happen to cross its path. This is a perfect example of a mutually beneficial situation in nature, where the spider will protect the rose against unwanted insects that could cause damage to the rose, while the rose offers shelter and protection for the spider who in turn would otherwise be left vulnerable to other predators.


image.png

The assassin:

Reduviidae

Another really cool bug was this little red, black and white assassin bug that I found lurking around, I was especially intrigued by the coloration of this insect, and although I probably have encountered one before, it is only since I started delving into the world of entomology and involved eco-systems that I actually started paying attention to the smaller nature. In fact at first I had no idea what kind of bug this was, and when I got back inside the house I had to do some research in order to find out. I must admit I was really happy that I did, because it turns out to be quite the interesting little creature; Here is a short exert from one of the articles I stumbled across giving some background on this insect:

"Toxins in the assassin bug's saliva paralyze its prey. Many have sticky hairs on their front legs, which help them grasp other insects. Some assassin bug nymphs camouflage themselves with debris, from dust bunnies to insect carcasses.

Assassin bugs do whatever it takes to catch a meal. Many employ specialized behaviors or modified body parts designed to fool their prey. One termite-hunting species in Costa Rica uses the dead termite carcasses as bait to attract live ones, then pounces on the unsuspecting insect and eats it. Certain assassin bugs in southeast Asia will stick their hairy front legs in tree resin, and use it to attract bees." source


image.png

The sexy little Lynx:

Peucetia viridans

I also came across a tiny green lynx spider, another beneficial garden insect to have around. Although this one was sitting on a surface that made it easier than usual to spot, these little fellas can very easily get lost when they are making themselves comfortable on plants in the garden. Their almost chevron torso blends in well with leaf veins while their more translucent legs just gets lost in the bigger picture, providing perfect cover for these little ambush predators.

As I took the picture I found myself whispering under my breath: "Happy to have you here little guy" then I giggled at the thought of myself talking to spiders.


image.png

The season of the Sticks

Phasmatodea

And then of course, as I was about to end my walk, I got a very pleasant surprise - A stick-bug. The are definately one of the cooler bugs as far as diguises goes, this is the first one that I have seen for the season, and certainly one of the smaller ones that I have come across. Last year I shared some stick bugs that I happened across around the house that rather resembles tree branches in size rather than sticks (ok, that might be a slight over-exageration but they can get pretty big around here.)

Unlike the other insects on today's list - these little guys are herbivores, so from a gardeners point of view they might not be all that beneficial, but they still hold a special place in the eco-system, and hardly cause any dismal damage - Plus they look really cool, so I have absolutely no problem with a few of them wondering around my plants...

image.png source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79