Loving ‘What Is' - Mariel Hemingway

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

Snap 2018-03-24 at 11.19.47.png
The awareness that has shifted my life the most is my ability to feel present in what I am doing in each moment.

Knowing that I am here right now, this second, is the key to my finding joy & a sense of peace. It is not always the easiest road and I remind myself daily that being present is a state of fluidity & motion… there is no stasis.

In this way, I remember that a state of peace is always alive inside of me. I breathe & connect to my body in a way that enables me to find me at a deep level.

It used to be that I was in a constant state of worry. I lived fearing I would miss something or get my life wrong.

What I love about being in my late forties and being aware is that I no longer live thinking about what has happened in the past or worry about what may or may not happen in the future. I savor being alive in this moment.

I have even learned to embrace my challenges as my gifts & guides. Life is not always easy - yet I know that with my challenges come my most exquisite lessons. I realize now that in life energy always shifts and peace is always my natural state of being. With my perceived hardships comes an awareness & deeper understanding of me - I can feel the beauty of when life feels difficult for me.

My connection to the Divine is what moves me. By allowing myself the space to feel 'what is' has made me feel more connected to that which is bigger than me.

My most cherished moments are when I feel my connection to the Divine and that comes in many shapes, colors & sensations. For me, my teacher has always been my body as it moves in harmony with nature. Where I feel myself most is when I am outdoors hiking, doing yoga in the yard or working in my garden… I feel the breeze on my skin & the sun warming my back and I smell the delicate array of nature’s natural gifts and I know that there is something so much bigger than me orchestrating my life.

I am a feeler, I am empathic. I have learned through movement & breath a connection to my body and when I feel my awareness becomes my guide. Healthy food, sacred space & living in tune with nature are keys for me to find peace of mind, body & spirit.

What I like to share with people is my love of 'what is'. I neither make it wrong nor glorify it. To be at peace with 'what is' is a gift I have learned over time. I love to introduce the sacredness of nature, food & movement – even adventure – as tools to accept 'what is', no matter what that might be. I would love for others to know the beauty of being present in their own bodies - by creating that awareness inside is how one can deeply feel the joy of being alive.

Mariel Hemingway
As the granddaughter of illustrious author Ernest Hemingway, Mariel was always destined to be well-known & publicly recognized. At the age of 13, Mariel became famous in her own right when she made her silver screen debut in Lipstick. Four years later, her work in Woody Allen’s Manhattan earned her an Oscar nomination. She has since made 30 films & numerous television series appearances and as a host of several environmental & humanitarian documentaries. For over 20 years, she has been pursuing her passion for yoga & health and is now seen as a voice of holistic & balanced health & well-being. She leads wellness retreats all over America - sharing her insights about movement, silence, nutrition & home. In 2003, she published her powerful bestselling memoir, Finding My Balance. A truly insightful & inspiring story of her life’s journey through the eyes of yoga & meditation. Mariel’s second book, Mariel Hemingway’s Healthy Living from the Inside Out, is a how-to guide to finding one's balance & health through self-empowering lifestyle techniques. Her latest & most exciting project is Mariel’s Kitchen…a company that will produce real food products with a real life message. Her first product is Blisscuits (a healthy gluten free sugar free cookie soon to be sold in Target)! The Blisscuits will be launched with her cookbook, Mariel’s Kitchen: Simple Ingredients for a Healthy & Delicious Life. Mariel believes that the health of the body, mind & spirit is the first step in becoming conscious of the health & well being of the environment that surrounds us. You can check out her message & mission on www.marielhemingway.com and www.marielskitchen.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68