5 Ways to Spark Inspiration!

in #inspiration6 years ago

agriculture-environment-flower-33044.jpg

As an artist (singer, songwriter, actor, screenwriter among other things), I’m always looking for ways to bring inspiration into my life.

It’s so easy to get on some kind of autopilot and lose that magic spark… and while I’ve come to understand that’s nothing to fear and it’s just a part of being human, I’ve made it my mission over the years to find ways to reignite inspiration!

I definitely haven’t come across a foolproof system, but here are some things that I find helpful.

1. Expose yourself to other people’s art and creativity

I find this so so important. Often as soon as I read a poem, look at some beautiful photographs, go to a movie etc, I instantly feel a creative spark, stop what I’m doing and start writing a song etc.

Or if I’m feeling like I don’t have much to say on steemit, I often start looking at other peoples' posts and feel inspired right away. I’m definitely not suggesting you plagiarize or anything, but feeding your soul with great content is so helpful to remind you of what you have to share!

2. Light a candle

I wrote some songs with the incredibly talented songwriter, Jack Tempchin (famous for the classic songs ‘Peaceful Easy Feeling’ and ‘Slow Dancin’).

Jack took creative inspiration very seriously and before every single songwriting session, he lit his special candle to call in the muse!!

Lighting a candle can be beautiful… or any other ritual you find helpful to get you in the zone!

3. Get out and move your body

This is a go-to mood changer for me. It’s easy to feel stuck and stagnant if you’ve been sitting in a room behind a desk all day. I find it essential to get out, breathe in some fresh air and go for a walk or jog to get my energy moving!! Often I find as I’m walking, great creative ideas come to me with ease.

4. Meditate

I find I often get caught up in my head, and meditation is such a great way to interrupt that and reconnect. After even 5 minutes, I often find it’s like a clean slate and I can come at things from a fresh perspective.

5. Listen to music

This is also covered in #1 obviously, but I find music specifically has incredible potential to transport you to another state and ignite inspiration.

Isn’t it amazing how you can turn on a song as you’re driving and suddenly the whole journey takes on a new quality? It can truly transport you and directly connect you to your soul and creativity.

I hope you find these helpful, and I'd love to hear your ideas for sparking inspiration too!

xo Bonnie

Come follow me!

Instagram:
website:
Facebook:

bloom-blossom-blur-174524.jpg

Sort:  

OMG Bonnie, this is so synchronistic. Not because I needed to spark inspiration, even though #1 is awesome and every other day I meditate light bulbs will go off I even keep a notepad near me for writing ideas down so the ideas aren't too distracting, but because I was literally sitting in front of my computer and harnessing inspiration into my writing. I can sit and let it take over then take a break come back and let it do whatever it wants. Some days I write a novel and some days a sentence. But just the act of giving inspiration and alignment my time always feels like magic to me.
I would love to have you on my show and talk about this stuff, I'm inspired to ask so I have to.
Great article, much love, and thank you for sharing

Yes, exactly! There's such magic that we can tap into if we just give it the space! I would LOVE to be on your show, thanks so much for asking! Are you on steemchat or discord so we can chat there? Much love and have a great day!

Yes I'm on discord, not sure how to find you on it though, little new to it. My email is [email protected] if that is easier

Congratulations @bonniepiesse! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Keeping the creative juices flowing can certainly be difficult at times. I wholeheartedly agree with your #1. I can't recall the number of times I have been inspired, or come up with an idea, by seeing what other people are doing, or have done. Sometimes all it takes is an ember that can blossom into a raging fire.

What a beautiful, poetic way of saying it!! Yes, I totally agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58