One Yeti's Perspective #276: Ancestry/Culture/Identity

in #inspiration5 years ago


With being on the road for over two months, we have seen and met alot of people. One topic that comes up while we drive is culture. The U.S. has no culture. People think it is a democracy with a common culture, but it is a Democratic Republic with small cultures all over.

Yesterday I recieved a comment from someone that inflected that Christianity was bad, and they draw strength from their ancestors. The issue was when they said my view of forgetting the past was a Christian thing to do.

This morning I talk about my culture, or lack of. We are Jesus loving nomads, and I have no ancestors to look to for guidance. Each day I am building something that might pass on to my kids. Or maybe they will choose a different path. Either way, I hope people don't get so caught in their identity that they forget to love others that are different.

Be well. Be encouraged. Be radical.

https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

No ancestors? What about your moms n grandpas? As for forgetting the past, it's not a bad thing to do, long as we collectively remember what history has taught us. I think that's why it repeats itself sometimes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah man. We should try to remember and learn what we can. No. Tracked my moms sidw back to my great grandpa...thats it haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74