How to Remember Things If You're Forgetful

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

memory.jpg

It sucks to have a bad memory. I wouldn’t say I have a bad memory, I have quite a good one in fact, but there are some days where my memory just isn’t working for me as well as I’d like. In this article I’m going to give you a few tips on how to remember the important things to help you through your day.

Keep Things in the Same Place

Let’s say that you’re always forgetting where your car keys are, or anything that maybe important or make you late for where you need to be. What I do is keep certain things in the same place always. For instance, I will keep my wallet, phone, and car keys all next to each other on a little table in the living room. That way I am assured I will not be late for work searching everywhere.

Learn to keep things in one place and you’ll be good to go. Another memory trick is to associate things with stories. Let’s say you have a grocery list to remember. The obvious thing to do would be to write that list down on paper. Either that or you could associate each object with a visual story or representation of the items you need to purchase.

Remembering Names

If you are bad at remembering names, ask yourself if you know anyone else that has the same name. Then you can think of that person when trying to remember this new person’s name. It’s what I do and it helps a lot.

Make a To Do List Each Night

A good thing to do at night before the next day is to write a list of things you need to do for the day. Memorize it the night before, and refer to it during the day if you have to. A lot of us have trouble accomplishing what we want to get done because we simply can’t remember it or effectively manage our time.

Managing time is extremely important because it will give us a time frame on when to get certain things done. If you have a big list of things to do, perhaps you can even spread it out in two days so it’s not as overwhelming? Set times for yourself on when to get certain tasks done and give yourself a time frame to work on them.

Memory Helps Us Get Through the Day

Believe it or not, memory does play a major role in helping us get through the day. If we can’t remember things clearly or we are always forgetting things, how can we ever expect to accomplish our goals?

I hope this article helps you and gives you some ideas of how you can improve your own memory and more effectively manage your time.

Did You Enjoy This Post?

If you got any sort of value from this post, will you please upvote it and follow me if you are not already a follower? My posts are designed to help people with self-improvement and to make their lives better with the info and value that I give. If you have any ideas of self-improvement topics you'd like to hear next, leave it in a comment and I'll take it into consideration for my next article.

image from: pixabay.com

Sort:  

I have a problem with remembering the names I hear here... because most of them are names I've never heard before.

And I have problems learning Hebrew. It's like no other language I've ever learned before. It's like I'm missing a system there should be there. How do you remember that "kitchen" is called "mitbach" and not "mitbar" which means desert? I had to look it up just now.

Memory is just like everything else. It takes practice and patience. Learning a new language is definitely a challenge. But maybe you can try associating mental images with different words to help you remember better. Just associate the word with the visual image of what it means in English and you'll learn it a lot faster.

Excellent ideas! I try to make sure everything has a "home" or I will misplace it so easily. To-do lists are also great in keeping me on track, without a list I can't focus and end up working on things that aren't as important as other tasks.

I love to do lists as well. I make one before the next day. It helps keep me on track.

Your wonderful post was featured in DAILY DIGEST - Featured Quality Posts - March 23 2018 with a complimentary upvote from our team and members. Keep providing valuable and original submissions in #steemrepair and interesting content to Steemit community.

@steemrepair is a group account created and maintained by @aschatria @bapin @rasamuel @debbietiyan @udezee and @ninjadroidx
Our mission is to support, inform, connect and promote quality content creators on Steemit.
Discord Server Invite
Join Curation Trail

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post was written for me. I'm the most forgetful person I know and I hate it. If it wasn't for my wife I'd forget to wear pants to work. I'm especially bad at names, Lord knows. These are some great tips that I will be using in hopes of improving my memory.

Great! Hope they will help you.

crossing fingers man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64