Stop seeing yourself as indispensable in your workplace

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

This is a story of an employee who once believed nobody can replace him in his place of work. He asked his boss for a 2 days off just to attend his sister's wedding.

IMG-20180501-WA0027.jpgI will Appreciate a 2-day permission to be absent from work sir.. My sister will be getting
married...

I haven't finished when my boss shouted... Who will clear the files on your table? Who will do this and that? I'm sorry, you can't go.... I felt bad but important...

One day, we lost a colleague of ours....

Everybody was summoned, as the speaker addressed other employees who were sobbing... "A minute silence to honour her.." he said...

In less than 30seconds, he said May her soul Rest in Peace, Amen. You can all go back to work...

Then I asked my boss, "Sir, who will clear her table and do all she was doing?

He smiled and said, "someone will resume with us next week to take her place...."

I used to think I was irreplaceable but this has thought me that if I were the one who died, someone else would resume to clear d files.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56