I Have Risen

in #inspirational6 years ago

phoenix.jpg

You have saved me. Just as a mother would protect her child. You have protected me. You saw me lying there, weak, dying in the storm. I was broken. You were somehow able to drag me away. You pulled me from the waves crashing down upon me. It seems that I have been given a second chance at this life, and for this, I thank you.

I was drowning. I had completely lost the will to survive. I was done. I thought that life had finally come to it's untimely end. A darkness was entering me that I could not explain. My intentions were to remain here on this beach until my body fully decayed.

This was the end, and I welcomed it with every breath that entered my body. I prayed for it.... I prayed without belief in a god, but still, I prayed. I did not want to be saved, but still you came. You came like a thief in the night, but still, you came.

You have given me the strength to pull myself from this hell. You have taught me that survival is a choice, which I must make on my own. I once thought that there was only one way out, but you somehow illuminated a light from another source that almost seemed to blind me. I couldn't see it. It brought me pain every time I would shift my gaze in it's direction. I didn't want to look at it. All I could see was despair and desperation. I was totally lost in what seemed to be darkness, as I ignored the light.

I have now awakened. My eyes are still blurry, and my head is not clear but I will soon be on my way. I must open my eyes to see what is before me. I must regain full consciousness before I am able to carry on. Without my footing, I can not take flight. This next step is going to be amazing. I am ready to take the leap.

I rise from the ashes with the coals at my feet. I feel a constant burning desire to get my feet off of the ground. As I ascend into the night sky, I feel the heat rising. This is my fuel. I can feel a fire burning behind me. The pain quickly seems to fade as I think about all that awaits. I was once an eagle, but today, a Phoenix has risen.

For this, I thank you.
I am truly grateful.

Image source

Sort:  

Congratulations @big.ock! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66973.37
ETH 3116.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73