You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Me, myself and I - An exploration of a weird phenomenon in Modern English

in #interesting6 years ago (edited)

My lord! What a post this is! Its very rare for me to find a post here on steemit that articulates what I've been saying, or trying to say, all my life! Thanks to you I finally know how to say this one better.

See, the tendency you mentioned, its even more rampant among people who doesn't have their mother tongue as English Language. Of course humans in general have their way of being dogmatic about rules wothout questioning what brought them about in the first place. But when you take a group of people who arent the creators of the rule, and arent related to them in any way, they tend to be more pendantic about those rules.

Ive always, like most people, felt a bit uncomfortable when someone around me makes a grammatical mistake. Most people take it even as a sign of intellectual backwardness or whatever. In the end, though, I figured, the actual communication is all that matters. Semantics over syntax anytime. As long as I get the meaning of what you re saying, and the way in which you re saying them doesn't impede my understanding of them in any overt means, then by all means say "Bob and me" away!

And your introduction about origins and uses and ordering, amazing. It sets everything in the perfect light. This is not just a brilliant article, it is a brilliant piece, blog, post whatever!

Me is glad definitely you wrote this! Keep putting up great stuffs.

Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12