China, what have you become ?

in #international7 years ago (edited)

Bullying.png

When I was young, I was very timid. My social awkwardness made me an easy target for bullying.

It went on like this for years, I was bullied and i remained silent. I was harassed and I remained silent. I remained simmering on the inside though, ready to burst when the time came, the right push came.

This happened, the right push came. And i let myself loose. It was refreshing, not being bullied anymore. I realized that power speaks, in-fact power demands things be done in its way.

I started carrying this power, this new found confidence around me like a wifi device carries a wifi cloud around itself.

I stayed aggressive to ward off aggression from others. My nature changed. My attitude changed from being timid and tardy but friendly to arrogant and confident. I admired the new me.

I thought this new found power would never end. In my lust for this power, I could not see what I had become, what i was loosing. I was loosing myself, i was loosing friends, real ones.

When you own a gun, you end up using it, wantonly or accidentally. I was using my power to have things done my way, without realizing or worrying if whatever I was doing was right or wrong.

One fine day I realized, I had become exactly what I hated, I had become a bully.

The reason I wanted to write this piece of blog is because I see a similarity between me and China, the way we carried ourselves and the way we did our business.

China went through a bad phase in its history, being harassed and troubled. China fought back and won.
China then decided that it will not go through that phase of humiliation ever again.

China became strong and started harassing its smaller, weaker neighbors.

I guess this is what everybody does when they become too powerful.

The colonial powers did it for centuries. The Russians did it and so did the Americans.
Why should the Chinese not do it ?

Because this cycle of power threatening, intimidating and suppressing the powerless needs to be broken down and China is in an unique position to do that, to change the course of history. Making friends is always a better option than making enemies, i am sure the civilization that has been around for like forever will know that.

Like the great philosopher, Spider Man's uncle, Mr.Ben said, 'With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility'.
Is China ready for the responsibility though ?

Sort:  

They are trying to make up for the "Century of humiliation"

The sort of thing that happened to them, kind of difficult to forget. China needs to remember its past, but it needs to stop living in it.

Congratulations @jackaljack! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70