Introduced by @stephenkendal, @starkerz and @anarcotech. #promo-steem.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #intoduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

26982178_2053578361553938_104245866_o.jpg

Hello #Steemit community, welcome to my first #introduceyourself post. I’m Megan, 20 years old and I work in the retail and hospitality industry, based in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire. I hope the #Steemit community will welcome me with open arms.

I am excited to announce that I am now part of #promo-steem family, with many thanks to @stephenkendal, @anarcotech and @starkerz who I met at the restaurant last week…3 medium mixed grills later, we were talking business.

Now a member of #promo-uk, I have the chance for the public eye to see me for me, a bright, bubbly, fun loving, audacious and hardworking individual, who always loves to have a good laugh and boogie!

#Blogging is relativity new to me, I’m usually the one sharing hilarious memes and videos, rather than posting personal and intimate details of my life all over certain social media sites, I am afraid you’ll have to be patient with me. However, I’m a very quick learner. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch with feedback and pointers. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Since I’m new to #steemit and creating a #blog, it seems fitting that you should get to know more about me and who I am. First and foremost, I’m a big music fan, I have an interest in the 60s/70s and 80s era. Do you remember when all the lyrics and backing tracks used to be original? Yes, they were the days. Now everyone is stealing each other’s creativity. Take 10 songs and remove the vocals, I guarantee that 99.9 % of the songs have the same cords. There’s no originality…what happened? I’ve been to see quite a few artists from that era such as; Bruce “The Boss” Springsteen, ELO (Electric Light Orchestra), Big Country, Noel Gallagher, Wet Wet Wet live (whom wrote most of their songs, occasionally with help). I can’t fault any of them. They were all truly amazing live.

Staying on the subject of music, you could say I’m David Bowie's No. 1 fan, he taught me a few life lessons five years ago, (I should note that I never met nor spoke with David). He taught me those lessons through his; actions, clothing, personas, interviews and most importantly his music. I want to follow this by using a few of his most known quotes;

“I wanted to prove the sustaining power of music”

“I always had a repulsive need to be something more than human. I felt very puny as a human. I thought, ‘F*@k that. I want to be superhuman.” He most certainly did, Bowie was a leading figure in popular music for over five decades, he was acclaimed by critics and other musicians for his innovative work. IMG_2701.JPG

Bowie taught me to be the REAL me and to not change yourself for the company you’re in…people will like you for you, if they don’t, leave them to it. You can’t please everyone!

He taught me not to be self-conscious, instead be confident. You ARE unique, there is not another you out there, in the world. Do not waste your time trying to “blend in”. instead break and change the boundaries of society’s ideology. Dress how you want to dress. If you want to wear double denim, you go for it and wear double denim.

Last but least, Bowie sends the message that if you truly believe in yourself, you can make your dreams come true, no matter how big or small. Bowie told himself that at 14 years old he’d be out of his hometown and making a life for himself as a musician. 15 years later, he truly was making a name for himself. As Audrey Hepburn once said, “Nothing is impossible, the word itself says 'I'm possible'!”

I for that David, thank you. If you hadn’t have been so determined, dedicated and innovative with creating music. I would have still been the shy, self-conscious, people pleasing kid I was 5 years ago.

I love to spend time with my friends. There are 6 of us in our friendship group, I suppose you can call us the millennial version of the television program ‘Friends’. There’s Joey (Ross Geller), Jack (Joey Tribbiani), Joel (Chandler Bing), Alice (Phoebe Buffay), Bethan (Monica Geller) and me Megan (Rachel Green). Unfortunately, half of the group are attempting to stick to Dry January and their other resolutions of the new year yawn. I give them to the 23rd before they crack. However, we don’t need to drink to have a good time.IMG_0511 (1).JPG

IMG_2403.jpg

As well as spending time with my friends and family, I enjoy camping in the good ‘ol countryside, skiing (I highly recommend Zell am See, Austria as well as Glencoe, Scotland. Two amazing mountains with great slopes and the views are breath-taking!) When I’m not skiing I enjoy reading the novels by the American forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs, who’s books inspired the television series “Bones”.

#Steemit sounds like a great opportunity to get involved with. Who wouldn’t want to get paid for using social media? You’d be crazy to not want to get involved. I feel as though I could bring a lot to Steemit, such as real-world issues that aren’t being addressed in the media, but should be. Whilst addressing real world issues, I feel as though I can bring a different prospective to the site. I get told quite often that I act older for my age, I can take this and turn it into something brilliant. I can address the and research into why us, the millennials are looked down upon and given a bad reputation and other issues we struggle with on a daily basis.

Thank you for taking the time to read my introductory post, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Megan xo

IMG_2733.JPG

Sort:  

helo @meganwooler welcome here in this comunity and good to see you here and i was read some about yourself in @stephen post he is a brilliant man and also all his team,,
congratulations for the membership of @promo-uk and good to be see you as part of this great team hope you are will work good...and hope we will you with your music skills and with promo work always also good to see you with your best friends....best of luck with your frinds your team and your promo activities
nice to meet you @meganwooler

Hello @shencoin, lovely to meet you too. Thank you for your wonderful comment. I'm glad you liked the post :)

Welcome to steemit :) One quick tip that could save you a lot of money in your steemit future - Don't set the Rewards to 100% powerup - Here is a quick video explaining why: Two Minute Tuesday #4 – Don't burn your money by setting the rewards to 100% Powerup!
Btw., resteemed you via @welcoming :)
Greets

Hi @welcoming, thank you for the info, I’ll watch the vid ASAP :)

Welcome to #Steemit Megan. It is great to see you here. I am looking forward to having you on the #Promo-UK Team and helping us with future #Steemit Promotional Events and Exhibitions. Have a good look round the Community, get a feel for the Platform and get to know as many others as you can. Have a great weekend Megan and I will call you next week for a chat about pulling together a small team. Have a good chat with your friends and anyone else who you think may be interested in joining. Once again Megan welcome to #Steemit and the #Promo-UK Team. Stephen

Thank you @stephenkendal, I look forward to speaking with you next week :)

Hi and welcome to steemit, yes i agree the communiti hire is big help. have a great weekend.

Greeting meganwooler...

Hope you will have a great time in #Steemit

Hi @harshavardhanm, thank you :)

Welcome to steemit 😊 Have fun!

Great to see you here megan. Look forward to working with you on some seriously cool #promo-steem projects.

Welcome to steemit community .upvot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68