A helpless undergrad from the streets of the poorest country in the world

in #introduce6 years ago (edited)

Hello, my name is Fisnik. I come from Ferizaj, a small town located in the south of Kosovo, a poor and low developed country in south east of Europe. If you never heard about my country, it is the place where Dua Lipa, Rita Ora, and Era istrefi were born. Yes, a country where the average citizen makes about 250 $ a month and the utilites cost 300$, gave the world leading stars in music.

It’s strange, it’s a love-hate relationship I have with my country. Sometimes I feel lucky to be here, but sometimes when I embrace the day to day foolishnes of this place, I just want to vanish.

Anyway, I am here to introduce myself. I will tell you about my country in my other posts. I am a 21-year old, on his senior year in Rochester Insitute of Technology branch here in Kosovo. No, I am not making that up. Yes, it’s the most bizarre thing to have a college like this in a country where two annual salaries are enough to pay for one semester.

I have always been a straight A student, through elementary and hogh school. Long story short, my family was broke as I was about to finish hogh school. I had to do something about it. So I started working, selling donuts on the streets. You know, like the guys in the streets of NYC. I was 17 at the time, and during the last semester in gjigh school, I had jokingly applied for a full schoolarship at the most expensive college in the Balkans, Rochester Institute of Technology. Two things you should know about me. I don’t know how, but I always excelled in English language, since I was 10 years old (probably because I always watched movies without subtitles) and second, math was always easy to me. So anyway, I got on the short list to take the test for the scholarship. And man, I aced it. First on the rank of Math, second in rank in english.

And this moment, this little moment in my life was called happines. I got the schoolarship, and my momma was crying out of joy.

Fast forward 4 years, I am two exams away from graduating a bachelor degree with majors in Evonomocs and Statistics and a minor on International Relations.

Bit these for years were like a movie let me tell you. I will belooking forward on writing about these things on my next posts, but I will also try to write ablut my country, our daily lives in a struggling enviroment, and joys of life in overall

If you like what I was talking about, please follow me!

Thanks, Fizzy

Sort:  

Hey Fizzys, I saw your post from Crypto Coin Trader on Facebook.

I found your story really interesting! Hope you get the time to tell some interesting stories here before you graduate!

Hey thanks a lot, feel free to check my second article, says a lot about the place.

Again, thanks

Welcome, fizzys! I wish you a very inspired experience here on Steemit! Be happy

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to Steem, @fizzys!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2831 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Hello @fizzys! Welcome to Steemit! CryptoNews 24/7 is launching as a source for daily insights into the CryptoMarkets. Please give us a follow to keep up to date on the latest trends in the major CryptoMarkets. Whether markets are up or down, a wise trader can always find a way to turn a profit!

welcome Fizzy, is nice to have you here, you just made a very good choice by signing up at steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95