Osiyo!

in #introduceme6 years ago (edited)

I'm Denver, ambitious with varying interests. I'm truly myself when outdoors; hiking, boulder-dashing, exploring caves, creeks, stone hunting and scrying. I am an active tribal citizen of the Cherokee Nation as well as a member of my tribes Fish and Wildlife Association and founder of a Missouri Stream Team. I love creatures (humans being my least favorite animal). I have a dog and a cat but in general don't like the idea of pets, owning a living animal just to keep in a glass tank or a wire cage for your occasional entertainment, its just not natural; like people living in close quarter houses and apartments in town. I'm happiest when surrounded by the beauty of nature and interested in the study of plants as medicine (I like plants more than I like people too). I lose a lot of hours wondering down dry creek-beds and through abandoned rock quarries collecting and cleaning specimen. I'm a Paleontology and Geology enthusiast with extensive fossil and mineral collections (I even prefer the company of stones over being around 'the general public'). I like to make stuff with my hands, sculpt clay, wood working, and when I'm in the city... doing politically themed street art. When i can sit still long enough to read, i prefer historical non-fiction and researching things of local interest.


rsz_4rsz_11imag0091_1.jpg


I'm the second generation of city folk in my family, but wish they had just stayed in the boonies. I used to feel constantly anxious, out of place, and generally unhappy and puzzled about the meaning of my life. I felt like i was born in the wrong time period. A few years ago i realized that i had just been born in the wrong place (the city) and into a lifestyle that was unnatural and uncomfortable to me. Perhaps I hadn't evolved at the same pace as these Facebook checking, smart-watch wearing, war loving, postal employees I had been absorbed by. Into my lap fell a little place on the creek, deep in the hills where I've been taming the land and establishing an off-grid homestead. I value traditional knowledge and teachings from my upbringing but think for myself and form my own opinions; i don't believe everything I'm told unless it is the words of a respected elder (gram-muh), and I really admire those qualities in others as well. I'm very patriotic to Missouri and really love the geography of this region. I'm from the Ozarks, but really feel at home in the Mississippi River Valley.


319355_422496167796700_1183034200_n.jpeg

Photos are mine.


I'm somewhat of a history buff and really like traveling to places of ancient historical significance. Most of my life has been dedicated to adventure and exploring, it is my motivation. I want to engage with others who are at the point in their life where they feel compelled to leave the city and live in the beauty of nature. I aspire to live a simple, but engaging and rewarding existence; not as a robot living and working a mechanical life in a metropolis human-farm; but a life as an individual person, a human animal. A species that has almost evolved so far that we are losing the ability to build our own nests, forage and grow our own food and medicinal herbs that are literally surrounding us, and we are forgetting what is sacred. I've seen fantastic things, had incredible experiences, and look forward to sharing them with the Steemit Community; as well as being entertained and learning from you, together we have the opportunity to enrich each-others lives.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Welcome and looking for it.

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Welcome to steemit my friend and thank you for your words of wisdom and love which you posted on my blog.....I will never forget that. Peace and Love.

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Awesome, thanks @goldendawne that'd be great! Shoot me a link!

There is a welcome channel
Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

and the Front Porch is the main chat area. Welcome!

Yeah, yeah... you know me!

Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to reading about your homesteading adventure.

I'm just down the road from Joplin Mo myself! Welcome to steemit!

Thanks, I feel welcome! I've been suprised how many locals ive been running into, good folks!

Hi and welcome to the place. I'm sure you'll find there are a good number of like-minded people you'd fit right in with. :)

I sure have been, way more than I expected!

I always follow your post everything is good if any time visit my blog @mamaathiyya

welcome to steemit! we @the-hearth have followed you and will feature you in our weekly curation post on sunday as a new earth-centered steemian to meet! we also live in missouri. Welcome to steemit! <3

That'd be fantastic! I've really enjoyed engaging with all of these quality folks here on Steemit! I had abandoned any type of social networking site a few years ago, they were never what I thought they would be. I was never excited to log on and browse new content, Keeping up with the Kardashians doesn't quite pique my interest. I figured I'd never run into groups of people with thought-paths and interests so similar to mine, sharing their ideas and experiences in one place. It's great to be here; and it's a pleasure and honor to be introduced to your followers @the-hearth. I love it here in the 4-States, beautiful countryside! Thanks so much for your comment, and I'll be seeing you again soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70