I AM A CREATOR

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

From as far back as I can remember I have made things.

my first sculpture (photo:mine)
As a child, when I wasn't outside collecting things like frogs, snakes, tadpoles and moss, I was making things. I had Barbie dolls but not the accessories, so I made my own. I made their clothes using my mother's sewing machine, turning the wheel by hand because my mother was afraid I would stitch my fingers. I made furniture and I made a house for them. I also talked my parents into getting me the Barbie hairstyle heads and extras so I could create cool hairstyles. I was not into the dolls as much as I was into making things for them to use.

Me and a chipmunk with my new self-created/inflicted haircut (photo:mine)

not the actual bikini (photo:mine)
I learnt how to sew, crochet, and knit. By Junior High, I was making own clothes. One time, I crocheted myself a bikini using cotton yarn. It looked great until I jumped in the water and the whole thing got so waterlogged it just basically fell right off of me. A fourteen year old girl naked in a swimming pool is not a good thing for said fourteen year old girl, and navigating to the bottom of the pool to collect one's bathing suit and try to get it back on wasn't that easy. But I survived to continue my creating of things!

me & baby Jason (photo:mine)


When I was seventeen I created a very important thing in my life - my son, Jason. It was my son - @vandigital - who introduced me to Steemit, Blockchain and Crypto in general. He has been at it for quite some time now, so I have a lot of catching up to do! But I'm up for the challenge and am going to enjoy posting here.

Needless to say, if you haven't guessed already, I went to art school. [Ontario College of Art and Design](https://www.ocadu.ca/) to be exact. I was in the Experimental Arts department, where I did mostly video art, photography, sound art, performance art and installations. This was before the digital age, before desktop computers and certainly before the internet. I did very well, I won awards, my videos were shown throughout the world but I never got to go with them, plus I only got paid $50 per show. Here is a piece of advice from me - if you want to make a lot of money, do not become an artist.

One of my pieces of video art

my first Macbook (photo credit: https://everymac.com/)
When personal computers first came out I bought my first one - an Amiga of course being an artist and all. I think it was around 1989. I remember opening the box and while reading the instructions on how to work it, my son came in and just started using it, as I sat there scratching my head. From there on, things moved quickly. Of course my next computer was a Mac. I wish I had kept it because it was the first Mac "laptop", and it's probably worth a lot today. Plus it only weighed a mere 16 pounds or just over 7 kilos and the screen was extremely small. But I sure loved it.

Soon I learnt Photoshop, which I still haven't mastered, and I learnt how to edit digitally using an Avid. This was a good thing to know at the time because I actually got a "job" editing at a documentary film company called Associated Producers in Toronto. I worked my way up to director. The film I worked on called "The Dancing Game" got me some Gemini nominations for best film, best director and best editing. The best part though, was that I got to travel while creating things (I forgot to mention that I love to travel and have travelled to many places around the world).

When I left Associated Producers, my husband, David (@hallamhighwater), and I started our own company called [Hg80 Media](http://hg80media.com/), where we travelled, filmmed, and created quite a few documentaries together.


The last feature length doc we did on Salt Spring Island for BRAVO

me & maryjane (photo:mine)
Then, in 2004, we decided to do something completely different. We moved to Salt Spring Island, British Columbia and started growing Cannabis. We were still making films, but eventually all we did was grow Cannabis. We moved into Cannabis activism as well and are trying to come to terms with Canada's idea of "legalization", which as far as I'm concerned is really prohibition 2.0.


1st place at LIFT Cannabis Cup 2016 (photo:mine)

Keeping in tune with using my creativity, I started making a special Cannabis infused product for women, called Bliss. I created the actual product, the packaging, and the website. Bliss was featured in Chatelaine magazine and has also won an award for best sex lubricant!

Anyway, here I am and I'm ready to MAKE MORE THINGS!





Sort:  

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

keep making awesome things! specially those chocolates ;) hehehehe

Do you only love me for my chocolates????blissballs.jpg

Very cool introduce yourself. Thank you, pleasure to be met.

And how in the heck did you get your paragraphs to line up on the left and right side??

Hey thank you so much! I wasn’t expecting all that. Your introduction was a great way to say hello, I was extra surprised with the esthetics of your post.

I wasn’t expecting to receive 3 different articles how to help my posts look more appealing. I really appreciate that.

Thank you! Happy Monday from Los Angeles, California.

Your welcome. Hope it helps!

Welcome to Steem, @artmonkey!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3133 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Steemplus 2.18.

Amazing biography on your life.

Welcome to Steemit @artmonkey loved reading your back story! Kudos to @vandigital for plugging u into the world of Blockchain as he did also introduce me to Steemit and crypto world!

Looking forward to read more of your amazing stories, thank u for sharing! Steem on ;)

Congratulations, your post had been chosen by curators of eSteem Encouragement program. Feel free to join and reach us via Discord channel if you have any questions or would like to contribute.

Also, check out my Freewriting Fridays Frenzy eSteem challenge!


eSteem Line
Thank you for using eSteem

DON'T FORGET TO CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!

CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)

You can trade your earned credstars for SBD!

Thanks so much @kaliju and the eSteem Encouragement program! Means a lot <3


Welcome to Steemit @artmonkey!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69020.66
ETH 3731.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65