Nutritional Biochemistry and Help People

First off, let me thank you for even taking the time to glance at this.

A little bit about me. My name is Sean, I am a 42-year-old man living in Newfoundland, Canada. I had my first MS attack when I was 11 years old, I was diagnosed after my second attack at the age of 16. I have two college diplomas that are both computer and technology based. I have worked mostly managing bars and restaurants. I have been a large scale project manager as well as a dishwasher and many things in between.

So why am I here? As my MS progressed with age I found I had less and less energy, my work and social life became impacted. I gained weight, getting up to 340lbs. I was depressed, which lead to eating. One day I woke up and just said enough is enough. I scoured the internet for what diets were the best, did any of these magic diet pills work, the standard thing people in my situation wanted to find. Luckily for me, I have always been very logic and fact-based. I found so much false information, twisted truths and blatant lies that I felt others like myself had no real chance not to get mislead. Desperate people want to believe anything. So what you may ask does all this have to do with MS research? I came across a study that showed positive results with ketogenic eating, a low carb type diet that was originally developed decades ago for diabetes but was showing interesting things in other forms of neurological disease. I decided to give it a try. I was skeptical at first, like I am with almost anything. However, after 3 months, I felt better than I could ever remember feeling in my life. I ended up losing over 100lbs as more time went on, I learned to ignore generic websites and only get my information from peer-reviewed studies. I got more and more frustrated with all the false information in the health industry. I wanted to help people, be able to guide people. So at the ripe old age of 40 I went back to University to get my Nutritional Biochemistry degree. My goal is to go in to research while offering advice and guidance to as many people as I can on the side.

There is always a lot of funded research to create new drugs, my goal is to find ways to treat disease through nutrition with hard science and not folk tales.

I also plan to make regular posts debunking some of the fad diets and scams out there. If I can help even one person I feel it will be worth it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @biochemist, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @biochemist! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67