My #introductory post: NOMADIC CONSTRUCTION BOY JOINS #STEEMIT

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180304_163902.jpg

As-salaam 'alaykum. Hello I am Kenny Kiat-ong, 37 years of age and just an ordinary expat
construction worker in Saudi. I have been working in different parts of the kingdom for more
than 5 years and currently assigned at Jazan.

I like reading, gaming, venturing, challenges, being with family, friends and eating.

Before i came to work here in Saudi i was i drunkard liability at our place and has nothing to
contribute but trouble and a burden to everyone. Life had no meaning and seemed hopeless.
I have tried several jobs but nothing worked out. I was against all odds.

But then one day in 2012 while we were drinking alongside the road a friend of mine came
and sat with us and shared that TESDA BAGUIO had slots for welding training. I was
convinced and interested then went the fallowing day at the Tesda office to inquire and
luckily got a slot for training. I processed everything needed and training started.

I was zero knowledge about welding which made learning very difficult. Ha ha honestly
I was the slowest amongst the group. Life became challenging and the small
glimpse of hope became bigger and bigger as days passed by. When training was ending
several employers visited TESDA like AJ & P, KEPPEL, EEI and many more.

Among the many EEI was interested with the TESDA welding trainees and a joint venture
was singned between the two. The venture required us to undergo another 52 days training
under the full control of EEI. I swear training was even Harder and harsher. We were told that
our group was intended for domestic projects but in the midst of schooling a big changed
was announced. The management decided to sent us overseas. Dam that was good to hear.
The information fueled perseverance, patience and dedication amongst everyone. Training was
continues and In july 2012 we were set to depart for KSA.

A new verse of my life started the moment I set foot in Saudi and knew that it was a chance
for self REDEMPTION and the many shortcomings i had way back home.

Words spread. Friends and family came to know of it and could not believe a piece of
trash like me could be recycled.

IMG_20180228_162557.jpg
IMG_20180228_162630.jpg
Thats me stick welding temporary spool for hydro testing.

My wife@amliv08 has been nagging me for sometime now about STEEMIT but with hectic work
schedule time is so scarce. And to make it worst our camp is isolated from the outside world and
venturing is possible only during fridays.

A lot of people think and say that working overseas is good and sure wealth!
THATS COMPLETELY WRONG! It takes a lot of guts and sacrifice to work abroad.
My salary is not even enough to support the needs of my family. I don't have a mansion, car or a
Farm, all i have is my loving family that keeps me going on.

20171005_085345.jpg
This is a bigger picture of the the current project I am assigned with. JRTP Aramco, Jazan, KSA.

She told me stories that individuals are earning more than enough with blogging coupled with
photography, initiative and intellect. I told her "come on dear you know pretty well I dont have
those things". Ha ha it took me several days to write this article alone.

I really am a tenderfoot about photography, technology, social media and blogging but hopeful
with the help of the STEEMIT family learning will be progressive and can get to places
I've never been before.

And so here I am with my first artcle.

Thank you! And hoping for your kindest support of everyone. Your upvotes, like, reSTEEM is much appreciated.

Sort:  

I think we are a part of something truly special here, and I welcome you! Another early adopter to this amazing technology.

Welcome kabayan:)
Have a wonderful time here.

Take some imaginary @teardrops (smart media tokens). You can read about these special tokens Here!!!

Thank you. I will give it a try.

Welcome on board @brokenpieces.
From this post i can see you'll go far in steemit, I'll be waiting to read more from you. Do enjoy the ride

Thank you for the encouragement.

Welcome on board @brokenpieces
With this post i can see you'll go far on steemit. I'll be waiting to read and hear more from you. Do enjoy the ride #danielcares

Your stories are awesome,from a drunken master to a master welder😁😁😁😁 nice one @brokenpieces

Trueness! I'm really glad it went that way. I just cant imagine life now if i'm still a drunken master haha.
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61