Hi Steemit! My name is Gavin and I'm a python developer/scientist/...

in #introducemyself7 years ago

Hi to you all in the Steemit community!

About me

My face

My name is Gavin and I'm a 38-year-old Australian with two young girls and a multitude of different interests. For recreation over the years I have done:

  • Photography
  • Bushwalking
  • Gaming
  • Open source development
  • Woodturning/Woodworking

Lake Titicaca

What I'll be doing here

I plan on posting explanations on scientific publications I come across, and what (if any) relevance they may have in your day to day life. I'll also be interspersing these with solutions to interesting programming/technical problems I have come across in my day to day life.

What I have been doing

My brain

I am a developer that has worked with Schizophrenia scientists over the last 15 years writing experiments, analysing data including:

  • Eye Tracking
  • Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)
  • and Electroencephalogram (EEG) data.

Over this time I have collaborated with researchers working on:

  • A longitudinal study of adolescents at risk of serious mental health issues - article
  • Face and Emotion processing in children with 22qd11.2 deletion syndrome - article
  • Investigations on how the brain responds to novel auditory stimuli - article

and much, much more.

What's next

Unfortunately, our government has other priorities for funding so I am going back to school! I am looking at starting a PhD in Mathematical Psychology in the next month or so, investigating the way we make decisions when presented with information about choices in a variety of settings, including:

  • Under time pressure
  • With low to high amounts of information about the choices
  • When there is missing information
  • and With graphical vs textual information
Sort:  

Great post keep up the good work also if you want you can follow me and comment on my post so that you can receive more up votes from me.

Hi! I noticed that you joined recently so this is me supporting you. Have one upvote on the house and keep on doing you!
I know how hard it is to get big upvotes on a new account so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I compiled this post to explain the system in more depth and share my own experience in earning wupvotes for over $1 a day.

(plz vot back me)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54