Body Fat vs. Scale Weight

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Why I use Body Fat % as an indicator of Fitness and not the Scale?

Here I am with BenGal Cheerleader, Abby Deweld. She is super fit and her body fat % reflects it. She has well defined muscles and is in great shape. 

The 9 point Body Stat Pinch System is what I use to measure my clients and the Bengal Cheerleaders.  

As a coach it gives me insight into what is going on with a client. For instance, if I see muscle loss and increased body fat this could mean either the client is doing too much cardio and not enough lifting or they are not eating enough calories or not eating enough protein to protect against muscle loss. 

After years of doing body fat stats on clients you get really good at what questions to ask and how to create the Whole Picture. 

You can be at your idea weight but skinny fat, meaning you are carrying an unhealthy amount of body fat, even though you may not see it on the scale or even the mirror, it shows up around organs. This is an issue for women over 40 years old. 

Ideally, women want to be around 20% for great health anything above that studies have shown you are more at risk to certain diseases like diabetes, cancer and heart disease. 

Just focusing on Weight Loss just shows up as a shrunken version of yourself, but Fat Loss shows up as a transformed you. I love this info graphic I found online that visually shows this. Why? Muscle weighs more than fat. So the scale can stay the same but visually you will look totally different. Fat is lumpy and chunky, muscle is Smooth and well Defined.


Imagine the stress you can get rid of by NOT focusing on the scale!The only disadvantage is you have to have a trainer who can do the 9 point Body Fat Pinch System on you. It shouldn't cost you any more than $20 to have this test taken.Set up a follow up visit to get remeasured. Talk about incentive to stay on track!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Weight Loss vs. Fat Loss

Just focusing on Weight Loss just shows up as a shrunken version of yourself, but Fat Loss shows up as a transformed you. I love this info graphic I found online that visually shows this. Why? Muscle weighs more than fat. So the scale can stay the same but visually you will look totally different. Fat is lumpy and chunky, muscle is Smooth and well Defined.Imagine the stress you can get rid of by NOT focusing on the scale!The only disadvantage is you have to have a trainer who can do the 9 point Body Fat Pinch System on you. It shouldn't cost you any more than $20 to have this test taken.Set up a follow up visit to get remeasured. Talk about incentive to stay on track! 

“Do you want to be a smaller version of yourself or a TRANSFORMED version?” 

The more lean mass (muscle) you have the more calories you burn.No need to fear lifting ladies, it's the fountain of youth because it helps you keep your body shape. For those of you who are nearing or are in menopause....lifting is how you defy it.

 Lift, Lift, Lift......and then lift some more ladies 💪

Bfit~Jacqueline


Sort:  

Welcome!

Nice read! I noticed that you joined recently so I'd like to offer you my welcome. One upvote for you and maybe upvote some of my stuff too!
As a fresh steemian it can be hard to increase your steem power so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

I will check it out :) thank you!!!

I just started following you :)

you are amazing! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73