Hello Steemit! My first blogsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introducemyself8 years ago

Hi Steemit! Let me introduce myself…I am Andronica Mohlakoana new on Steemit. I am pursuing a degree in Mechanical engineering and have love for mechanical design, architecture, fluid mechanics and thermos dynamics. I used to think Steemit it’s all a scam, seeing people blog and getting paid?! Now I believe in the future of Steemit because all the funds earned from this wonderful platform will be used to pay for my tuition fees in order for me to graduate.

I will like to contribute to the number of females in engineering. It’s a reality that in South Africa many men enter the engineering sector. Can gender parity be reached in the 4th industrial revolution?. According to Engineering Council of South Africa in 2013 almost only 11% of the total number of engineers registered with the council were women and out of all that number only 4% were professional engineers. To make matters worse 70% of the women who graduated with engineering degrees in South Africa eventually left the engineering sector after starting their careers.

I have been inspired by the likes of:

  • Kate Bergeron - Hardware Engineer at Apple: with mechanical engineering skills to work on Apple’s manufacturing process and has moved into designing new Apple’s mobile products.
  • Lisa Su – AMD CEO: holding a PhD in electrical engineering she went up the ranks to COO and then later boss lady CEO.
  • Ginni Rometty - IBM’s CEO and Chairwoman: incredibly started as a systems engineer at IBM.
  • Aprille Ericsson - NASA’s8 Program Manager at the Goddard Space Flight Center: she started as a systems engineer at NASA and became the first African American woman to receive a PhD in Engineering at NASA.

Some organization from Steemit are already donating their Steem to assist schools in Africa with paying for electricity thus to ensuring no disruptions in learning and pursuing dreams.

Steemit and Steem is the future.

Sort:  

Welcome Andronica... very interesting first name you have. Enjoy Steemit and I look forward to some of your posts.

@themagus: thank you very much...this is an amazing platform and hope to learn from people like you. I upvoted and followed you.

Thank you Selwi, I returned the favor. As you no doubt noticed from my blog I too am South African ...

@selwi welcome here. My son is going to university next year if there are any universities left...LOL...you will do great with your attitude. Just keep on steeming!

Welcome to steemit sist... Keep SteemOn!

Welcome to the community @selwi. Let the community know what you got, share your mechanical designs. See you around.

Will do...thanks

Looking forward to it.

Welcome to steemit and good luck. Picture is a little blurry . You may want to change

Will do..thanks

Welcome to Steemit:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65