The launch of @slowcookingchef: An easy to follow cooking blog

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

intropic.jpg
Hello my fellow Steemians its a great day in the city beautiful that's Orlando Florida if you didn't know. My name is Bob and I'm the slowcookingchef.I've had a passion for cooking for about 20 years but this wasn't always the case. I used to be one of the people really intimidated by cooking if it wasn't mac and cheese or something from a box. That all changed when I turned 18 and got a delivery job for a small Italian restaurant. My car ended up breaking down and the owner asked me if I wanted to stay on as a cook, I explained I'm not much of a cook but he took a chance on me. Chef Frank took me under his wing and taught me everything he knew, before long I was making everything from pizza and wings to lasagna and chicken marsala.

That's what I wanna do through this blog. I want to make you the best cook you can be and really enjoy cooking the way I do. While my name is slowcookingchef I enjoy all means of cooking and that will reflect through my recipes. I will put out at least one slow cooking/crock pot recipe a week, but I will also be using other means one being my trusty air fryer. They seem to be all the rage right now and I can see why, everyone likes fried food but its quite unhealthy, with an air fryer you can use a tablespoon of oil and get that same fried taste with a great reduction of calories. Hopefully soon I will be able to purchase an instapot and start coming up with some recipes to share with you.
airfryer.jpg
crackpot.jpg

I got hurt a few years ago so I can no longer work in restaurants this was a hard pill to swallow but then my friend @world-travel-pro started on steemit. He told me for about a year that I should get on the platform and share what I can do,
so here I am. I wanna help you become someone who feels they can try and cook anything. Cooking is fun so I suggest putting on your favorite music and just have fun in the kitchen. If you mess up it's not the worst thing in the world just try again. Thankfully its very hard to mess up one of my slow cooking recipes. Many just have a few ingredients and you do the prep throw it all in the crock pot set it and forget it for six to eight hours. Whats great about slow cooking is you can get everything ready the night before and just turn it on before you leave for work. When you come home you will have a great tasting home cooked meal.

No matter if you are a college student, single/married cooking for yourself or for many get a crock pot and follow along. Whatever your goals are in the kitchen I'll get you there. I'm all about making great tasting meals that are easy to achieve. One of the greatest feelings for me is when everyone enjoys one of my meals. I'm no artist but when someone truly loves something I've made it's exhilarating. If you ever need to ask a question or some clarification on a post don't hesitate to reach out. I'll be more than happy to help out. All right that's all I have for today, I'm looking forward to getting to know this great community!
kitchen tools.jpg

Sort:  

Hey @slowcookingchef! Welcome to Steemit! This is such a great place to share your cooking knowledge with the community.

I had a similar introduction to the world of food as a pizza delivery driver at age 17! I would be asked to help out as a prep cook once in a while. But I never considered becoming a chef until a few years later when I was in college and realized that I hated it. It looked at what I loved to do most and cooking was it. The rest is history!

I look forward to seeing some of your posts as you get started on the platform! If you have any questions about the Steemit food scene, I can help. Also, your friend Dan is a friend of mine too! We will finally meet in person this week.

Thank you, Dan told me to reach out to you and you beat me to it. I really enjoyed your post about meeting up with a fellow steemian and trading recipes. That eggplant salad looked delicious. Can anyone get involved with the cook with us contest? Hope to hear from you in the future!

Yes, anyone can join the contest. Below is a link to our latest contest.
https://steemit.com/cookwithus/@cookwithus/cook-with-us-11-post-your-entry-here

All the rules for posting an entry are in that post. You will also find our calendar in that post so you can check out all the upcoming themes. We just started a discord channel too for chatting. If you have any questions about exactly how to enter let me know. And even if you make a mistake while posting we will let you know how to correct it and make the entry valid. Happens all the time!

The contest runs from Tuesday to Monday each week. Hope to see you there!

welcome to steemit @slowcookingchef! I look forward to more stories of your cooking life and "how tos" for cooking - especially for the crockpot. If you're a friend of Dan's I'm guessing that you're a great person ;-)

Thank you very much! I really liked what I saw of the post of your work in clay. I followed you and look forward to seeing more of your work!

Welcome to Steemit, @slowcookingchef! I am following and have upvoted. Looking forward to seeing some great content!

Thank you very much!

You are welcome!

Welcome bob! I hope you teach us good recipes

Thank you, I've got some great ones coming!

Looking forward to your recipes!

Thank you, I'll have one up in the next couple days.

Greetings, slowcookingchef! Best wishes for a very rewarding expereince here in this fun-loving community :) Best Regards

Thank you very much!

I love food and welcome in steemit

Thank you, glad to be here it's a wonderful community.

Welcome to steemit @slowcookingchef. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Great intro buddy! So glad you are now a slow cooking steemian! Welcome to the club! Looking forward to seeing all those great meals, especially what that air fryer can do!

If you ever need me to swing by your place and eat a family size lasagna to my head after a totinos pizza and 50 pieces of sushi.....just let me know! lol

Upped and resteemed.

From Tampa Bay Florida - Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Thanks, Dan you can come over next St. Patricks Day. I'll make an extra corned beef just for you.

Haha! I'll bring my appetite, it comes with me where ever I go!

Thanks, jackblackcrypto! Great post for you as well. You got a follow and an upvote. Hope to hear from you in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23