Hey guys, I'm new to Steemit :)

Hi all, I was recently introduced to Steemit through a close friend and he said the best thing to start with is an intro post so here I am :)

My names Jason, im 25 from Australia. I've recently begun investing in crypto and after being told about Steemit i decided to give it a go. I'm probably going to write mostly about History, science, and maybe a little politics but nothing too deep.

The idea of Steemit sounds awesome, getting paid to create content? love it.
I'm new to the whole blogging thing so cut me some slack to start with, i'm sure i'll make some mistakes but then again, who doesn't :P
I'm not a huge fan of photos so you probably won't see any of me personally. Something about my smile makes me look like a bit of a knob haha.

new.jpg

Background

I'm part of a largish family, 3 brothers and 2 sisters, I'm the eldest. I grew up quite poor, at least in comparison to most of the other kids but i'm turning all that around in my adult years. I attended a public school which didn't really fit to my liking, or i didn't fit in there i suppose would be a better way to describe it. I was picked on up until around year 10 but then most of the douche-bags dropped out of school and i was left alone for the most part. When i finished school i spent a year traveling around Australia with a friend and went to New Zealand for a month. It was awesome.

After the traveling i attended Uni and completed a bachelors in business management. I also studied economics and health and human development. I dropped it after around 2 years or 3 1/2 semesters as i didn't see it leading to anything i really wanted to do. Looking back i probably should of stuck with it and at least got the degree but you can't live in the past and you can only change your future.

Goals

My goals in life are to run a small business, i haven't quite decided what in yet, I would love to open a cafe but it doesn't seem financially viable, profit margins are minimal and it is a lot of work. I've considered starting my own real estate agency or even flipping houses with a friend but i don't really have the capital for all that yet.

Steemit goals

I don't really have any goals for Steemit just yet. Hoping to meet new people, make some connections and if I make some money doing it all the better ;).

I plan on posting mostly about stuff that interests me, perspectives on things, History, Biology Geography all that sciencey stuff really interests me but I never thought i was really smart enough to make a career of it so I will probably just do research and write about it here.

Life plan

I basically want to find a way to earn enough passive income, (whether through investing in crypto, blogging or running a business) so as i can retire by 40 on a beach somewhere. Just a small hut with me and my doggo somewhere quite where the weather is always nice. Sit on the beach on my laptop in the sun and just enjoy life :)

Thanks for reading guys and I hope to make some new friends here very soon.
For now that's me out :)

Sort:  

Hey mate, welcome. I recently joined too. I love how you want to retire at the age of 40, in a hut with your doggo :). That's my plan too. I am already 35 and have a mortgage, so probably wont be retiring for a while. You seem like a clever guy and believe your going to do very well for yourself. Good luck and I hope you get that hut as it really is a realistic and modest dream, not aspiring to have have a Ferrari etc.. Check out my tree house design, you might like it, its basically a hut in the tree tops. I just posted on my blog. Great post, Up voted and followed you.

Hey, thanks man. I mean i wouldn't complain about a ferrari but it won't make me happy :) yea i definetly will. if not a hut then a legit treehouse would be an awesome spot to retire :P

welcome on steemit

Welcome..... to the new world. Cheers.

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Hi @theeducator. Welcome to steemit! We have a pretty strong Team Australia community going here on steemit to support each other. If you'd like to be part of it, then please check out this link for the instructions on how to join https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-update-21-11-17-and-the-steemit-growth-forum

Hey Jason, welcome to steemit. I am sure you will find some good bloggers to read here. Have a good time :)

Welcome to Steem. Good luck.

welcome

maybe you can make a big enough name here for your that you live at the beach by 40

gl and enjoy your stay here

Welcome to Steemit, Jason. Just feel free to blog whatever you want to. Take your time and learn everything, no one learned all about Steemit in just one day. That's a good life plan you got there. Have fun. Cheers!

Congratulations @theeducator! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73