The power of makeup in sketches

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Did you know that your imagination is just a presentation of everything that the eye has previously detected??!!!
Here's the logic. I see a couple of things, my brain interprets what I have seen and then it stores them. After a while, I can
and redesign what he/she may have seen in the past by adding or subtracting from it. This makes the piece of art his/her own.

20180220_145036.jpg

When I picked up my pencil to draw, I did not have any particular concept in mind (this happens so often to me). I was just going to go with the flow. I started drawing, I kept thinking, should I make this a lady or a man. Eventually, I ended up with it being a lady ; ) I wanted to show a lot in the composition, I wanted my audience to take a look at it and immediately know what it was. I'm a huge makeup fan and I wanted my lady to look like she was indeed wearing makeup and not the plain ol' natural look.

With the evolution of winged liners and bronzers and highlighters, it was easy to conceptualize my lady's look. I put a lot of emphasis on the eyes, the 'cat eye' is clearly defined and of course the popping contour of the cheeks. I also gave her defined small lips and the afro so she'd look just like me! : )

Sort:  

Thank you

Love the drawing! How long did it take you?

Thank you! It took me a couple of hours, about four I think. although I made some adjustments to it when I was finished

It is a great drawing! We run an art sharing curation trail here on steemit, would love to see some future illustrations!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57