introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
What's a Homesteader and Why Do I Care?
image
๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
Sometimes it's easier to answer the question of what something is NOT rather than my definition of what it is, although I'll give you my definition below. A homesteader isn't necessarily off-grid, rural, live totally off the land, militia-type agrarian... although they can be. They aren't necessarily owners of large plots of land and own tractors and "farm" although some do. They don't necessarily have huge back yard suburban gardens, replaced front lawns food plots, or city-chickens, though some of the coolest homesteaders I know do those things.

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
๏ฟผ

Grow Where You Are

My definition at my website (The Modern Homestead) is simply this... a homesteader should "Grow Where You Are". Few words for a great big philosophy. My take on homesteading (and please note, there are a lot of different views) is this: Life pulls us different places at different times. Sometimes our desire may be to live in the middle of nowhere, off-grid growing our own food, living sustainably, and yet, our callings, careers and current choices may place us in suburbia, perhaps on a small lot in an urban setting. Maybe kids schooling, not wanting to uproot them, your career, medical needs or any number of things keep you from being where you THINK you need to be to live more sustainable, to be a little less dependent, to grow in knowledge. But that's counterproductive. You can learn so much where you are by doing things that you want to do in the future. It may be a smaller scale or it may not be everything you want to do, but you can move in that direction.

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

My Story

๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
With that philosophy in mind, I'll share a little bit of my story so you know who I am. My name is Bob. I chose@homesteaderslife here because modernhomestead was ONE LETTER TOO LONG! :) I'm originally from Ohio. I now live in NW PA. I'm married for over 20 years and have 4 children... all teenagers with the oldest in her freshmen year in college. I've been in NW PA for 10 year๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

Sort: ย 

Welcome to steemit @adyyong how are you, your introduction is great I'm so amazed. You're so gorgeous and very intelligent, keep it up. =)
More power to you and see you around. :)

Welcome to Steemit.
This is a platform that rewards you for your actions and transactions, but the truth is, it sounds simple but it is deeper. I know a community that can help you settle in as soon as possible and show you around.
You have to grab the opportunities all around you. At Steemitschool we give you knowledge and educate you how we make $500 in your first month on steemit.
Be a part of our discord channel because in Steemitschool we only win together.
Join us on discord
https://discord.gg/rdgU5tt

Hi welcome to steemit platform. Are you interested in joining any contest here in steemit? example drawing ,photoshoot travel and more type why dont join my discord and get update every contest click here. https://discord.gg/47UYDv


Hello @adyyong!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 6 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information Tag Spam?

Please take these 2 warnings into consideration and help build a great platform!

Hi welcome to steemit platform, and hope you raise more and get to know more about steemit,Do you like to join in any contest in here at steemit?

What is Contest?
Contest is another form to help newbie steemit user to build foundation in there account and theres respective prices depend on host how much SBD/Steem they like

If you want to be updated from any type of contest Follow me
or
Join my Discord for more info click here https://discord.gg/47UYDv

Welcome
Your #introduceyourself blog is very nice.
Thats what its All about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you Will be succesfull! ๐Ÿค› and You Will earn money. ๐Ÿ’ด๐Ÿ’ธ๐Ÿ’ฐbe carefull with all your passwords !! Never give that up!
I blog every day and love it!โค๏ธ
Helpfull is the Steemify App , its Free in the Appstore go cheque it out. And good luck steeming ๐Ÿ€
Greetings from Brittandjosie - Holland ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡บ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54