Greetings from South Africa!

Hi there, I heard about steemit a couple years back and didn't give it much thought after thinking it was just another social media platform. The more I learn about decentralised currency and applications these days, the more excited I am about joining communities like this which have a sense of ownership and reward in building things collectively.

Howzit, my name is Ryan, born and bred in Johannesburg, South Africa.

DSC02000.JPG

I have a background in IT and foreign exchange trading and have always loved technology and the rapid pace at which it is changing the human race. Decentralised communities are the future and I want to be a part of that! Grabbed me some bitcoin back in 2015, right at the bottom of the consolidation phase, and am really glad I did. I despise 9 - 5 office culture and would at all possible prefer never to go back. Those few bitcoins have allowed me to travel, observe and meditate on the things that really matter in life over the last couple of years.

I love to travel (seriously!). I've travelled 22 countries and lived in 3. I remember the good ol' days of couchsurfing back when I joined in 2006, and the incredible people that crossed my path. 2017 was an incredible year for me from a travel perspective. I got to travel all around Southern Africa on the Put Foot Rally and also spend some time with my German girlfriend in Europe, most notably checking out the Northern Lights in Norway.

I will for sure be adding some adventures on this platform in the travel category in the coming weeks.

world.jpeg

South Africa is a stunningly beautiful country and I have travelled the land extensively. There is nothing greater than taking a weekend out to Pilanesberg or the Kruger Park to see the big 5 amongst other incredible animals. There is something super spiritual about being in the heart of nature which is hard to put down in words.

If you have any questions please feel free to ask. Despite a number of problems we have, I love telling people to come and visit this magical land on the tip of Africa.

sa1.png

Catchya!

Sort:  

Hey Ryan, welcome to steemit) Dont forget to sign up to steemit chat to promote your post.
/good luck in coding)

Hey, thanks oddworld! How do I go about doing that? The steemit chat link just takes me to a text page. I don't quite understand the witness system yet.

Welcome, Ryan aka traveler! ;)) You will not regret joining us! Best of luck. Followed

I am into motivation, psychology and healthy lifestyle, in case you would like to visit my channel :) VALUE guaranteed

Hey, wild-forest, thanks. Will check it out!

Hi, welcome to steemit. Good luck.

Congratulations @agentsmithza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

WOW! You bought some bitcoins back in 2015?! You must be rich now xD But the point is that investing on Bitcoins back then truly allowed you to live your life. I am also planning to leave my 9-5 Structure soon once I am successful on my crypto currency investments and steemit to focus on doing things beneficial for my life and what I am passionate about.

Hey denox, sadly I sold most of them at the beginning of last year and missed this huge runnup towards the end of 2017

face-palm_1f926.png

But a profit is a profit so I'm just getting myself educated and back in the game!

Yeah, next time, only sell a certain percentage of your bitcoin portfolio, not 100%. That is what I am doing with Litecoin. I bought them at $40 back in late June of 2017 and now they are worth $150+ xD And at one point worth $300-400 which was crazy, should have cashed out for my upcoming phillippines trip but I will still go there regardless xD As long as I plan everything before hand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73