Hello Steemit! Intro & Tesla Coil Star Wars Demonstration :)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi Everyone,

My name is Roddy, I am a High School Teacher from Australia. I currently teach Physical Education and Digital Technologies.
I am really excited about Steemit and the amazing Social Media Community it is creating. When ever social media comes up in a classroom setting I always speak about this as a new and exciting Social Media outlet.

Throughout the course of the year teachers take part in a range of different professional development opportunities so I thought I would share this experience with you!.

Deakin University CADET Building Tour
Our first day back for the Semester was a teacher professional development day and out group decided to explore Maker spaces.
We were lucky enough to organise a tour of Geelong's Deakin University CADET Building (Centre for Advanced Design in Engineer Training).

http://www.deakin.edu.au/engineering/cadet

During the tour we were show the following areas

High Voltage Lab
This is a key facility within the CADET building and it is a real spectacle for visitors. It creates lightning bolts and allows students and industry to test electrical related experiments. The system is capable or reaching up to 500kv. Below is a short video from the experience.

Electrical engineering Lab

IMG_20170717_094612 (1).jpg

Virtual Reality Lab
The Deakin VR Lab is the first of its kind in the world. This is due to facilitating a cave automatic virtual environment (CAVE), a computer-aided design (CAD) wall and a large-scale haptic device in the one facility. This means a participant is able to walk around; through and even touch virtual objects in a virtual world, and imagine products that are yet to be realised.

IMG_20170717_102537.jpg

Anyway thank you for reading my first post on Steemit I hope you have enjoyed learning more about Deakin University's CADET building. I know that the experience for me was amazing. Facilities like these really change the way students learn.

Cheers
Roddy

Sort:  

@Alchz - welcome to steemit. Hope you will enjoy ! All the best @digital-gypsy

Welcome to Steem @alchz I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you very much hope you enjoyed the post

Let me welcome you to this awesome place Alchz . I'm @chrisx and if you need any help feel free to contact or follow me :-)

Welcome to Steem @alchz I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Welcome @alchz :)
wish you Best of luck
I am @sitara12511 Follow me and Feel free Contact with me
for Profitable Tips

Welcome! Hope you enjoy Steemit! We are a great community. I am a Brazilian writer and videomaker, living in London. Here I post about photography, travelling and stories. Have a look at my profile and if you like it, follow me. Cheers!

Welcome to steemit! In case you want to connect with the science community on here, I invite you to join us on steemit.chat in the #steemSTEM room :)

Welcome to Steemit ! happy to have you here. Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76