Why We Muslim Women Cover our Bodies:An introduction Part 2

image.jpgimage.jpg

Hello Steemians! I would like to introduce myself as a hijabi.That's why I can not post my face here naked like what many of you are doing ...like in my fb account I prefer not to...I am not used to it. I hope that my stance and religious orientation will not make a negative impression upon me and will not affect my socialization with you my fellow steemians. Certainly, I can assure you... I am not a robot hehe! There's a part 2 because the part 1 failed because I do not know the rules especially in tagging. Thanks @digicrypt for posting a very helpful post for beginners like me.I found in google while researching.And a special thanks to my good friend in fb @jerelyn for introducing steemit to me and for continuous support, moral and technical hehe!
Let me share with you the reason why we Muslimahs cover our body.
There are many styles of covering that mainly depends upon the tradition of the place or interpretation of the ayah or verse from the Qur'an which says,
"And tell the believing women to reduce [some] of their vision and guard their private parts and not expose their adornment except that which [necessarily] appears thereof and to wrap [a portion of] their headcovers over their chests and not expose their adornment except to their husbands, their fathers, their husbands' fathers, their sons, their husbands' sons, their brothers, their brothers' sons, their sisters' sons, their women (who are refer to as Mahram) that which their right hands possess, or those male attendants having no physical desire, or children who are not yet aware of the private aspects of women. And let them not stamp their feet to make known what they conceal of their adornment. And turn to Allah in repentance, all of you, O believers, that you might succeed."
First is "Hijab",a veil or headscarf which usually covers the head to chest. Then "Niqab" which is covering the face (but not the eyes).While "Burqa" covers the whole body from the top of the head to the ground, with a cloth grille in the hood only to be able to see.There is also Shayla,Al-Amira and Chador.
We are obligue to cover our body in the presence of any male outside of our immediate family, in our commitment to modesty and privacy.Other than that it's a matter of choice and maybe fashion for some.Opposite to the assumption that it is a symbol of men domination and that we are passively oppressed and forced to do this. But I tell you staright...This is a choice.
I am not saying that non-hijabi are not modest. As I am saying this is a personal belief and personal choice. But despite of this,I am open-minded because as our saying goes "I am just covering my hair...not my mind. My mind is free.I am not judgemental. I always love to think,explore issues and study new bodies of knowledge.
I would love to here from you.If you have comments about this please place your comments below.Thank you!

Sort:  

Hey @alexandria27! It's nice to see you here!

Welcome to Steem, @alexandria27!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2835 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.4 : Two new features on Busy and bug fixes.

@alexandria27, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

If you are also into cryptocurrencies then you are more than welcome to visit my channel, as I have made the commitment to share everything with others.

Let me know if need any help.

Best of luck to you!

That's great and you are welcome to steem community and enjoy your self here...

thank you with a smile!

so there you are friend, thanks for the mention. welcome to steemit and enjoy the journey. let us share without inhibitions,without fear and try to explore the beauty of steemit. Let our voice be heard in the world and meet new people. connect connect connect. Life in steemit is not easy but i believe, everything will be made easy if we put our heart in it.

Congratulations @alexandria27! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Russia vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello alexandria27! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67352.29
ETH 3501.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22