749th social network and 19th nervous breakdown

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Trying out Steemit. Mainly because @steevc kept droning on about it.

First impressions

  • I like the Home/Hot/Trending/New tabs as a means of discovery.
  • I like tags for the same reason.
  • I am less sure about $0.31 attached to every post and comment.
  • This feeling of unease was increased by this popular post by a Steemit founder identifying what appeared to be attempts to game the system (https://steemit.com/steemit/@dantheman/why-i-flag-ozchartart). Long, deep sigh. Why do people have to be so flipping greedy ?
  • I used to know Markdown pretty well but I ditched it in favour of Emacs and Orgmode. Oh well. Better than the alternatives.
  • Love the live post preview and GitHub Markdown support which is really helpful.
  • Not sure many of my friends are here but that may well be a good thing.
  • Not sure there are many UK football fans here. Maybe that could be the niche that makes me a fortune.

I've used many of the social networks (including all the unpopular, niche ones) most of them in fact except Twitter and Facebook. My favourite, without question, was identi.ca which I liken to a chat with your mates in a pub and a 'Like' was a knowing nod across the room. It wasn't worth $0.02, it was worth much more than that. I made some great friends there and even produced a short-lived podcast with a couple of them.

Currently, my only presence is on G+ but my stream seems be getting increasingly sluggish and I fear that in the fullness of time, it will go the same way as Buzz, Wave, Reader and most of their 25% projects.

Sort:  

Right. I've made 12 cents. I'd like to cash out and close my account now please. [ Joke BTW ]

Welcome to steemit. Your feelings are perfectly normal and with time you would find your footing. An Arsenal fan here so yeah there's at least one U.K. Football fan

Welcome to steemit @andyc. you'll thank @steevc later.

Just removed my own automatic vote for my first post as it feels dirty and I'm sure there are more deserving causes out there.

Welcome to Steemit! :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81