New Steemit User--Writer, American Expat in the UKsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi all,

10372253_707023189347560_886455646383354390_n copy.jpg

I was inspired to start a Steemit account after my friend Hannah introduced me to the community. I am a lifestyle blogger (though admittedly I have let it fall by the wayside) at annainwonderland.co.uk, writer, and freshly graduated PhD in History where I concentrated on the Holocaust and politics of memory in theatre. Additionally, I am an American living in the UK, originally from the Silicon Valley. I have been living in the UK for five years. Previously, I have called Amsterdam, Budapest, Grenoble, New York City, San Jose, California, and Orange County my home as I moved quite a lot during my 20s. Now, I am happily settled in the UK for the long haul!

Currently, I am working freelance and have published a few books that you can check out on Amazon. Just look me up by my name, Anna Scanlon, and my three books should be there (Unravelled, Children of the Most High and The Remnants--or go to my blog--they're all there!). I am now working (very slowly) on a sequel to Unravelled, though I've had some bumps in the road, admittedly.

I love to travel, read (I surpassed my 30 books in 2017 goal and have upped it to 40 in 2018!), write, home decor, baking, history, theatre and film. You can also follow what books I'm reading on Goodreads, and I would love to add you so I can see what you're reading and get ideas. :) https://www.goodreads.com/TheAnnaScanlon

I am very excited for Steemit as in 2017, I ended my YouTube career and halted my blogging career while I sued someone (a professional troll really) for using their platform to attack me personally and professionally. This has put me off the Internet a little bit, but I do love the connections I've made and the monetisation of creativity that the Internet allows. I am very excited that Steemit seems to value its creators and deters trolls. You can read a very well written article about my ordeal here: https://www.wired.com/story/this-big-beef-exposes-the-ugly-underbelly-of-vegan-vlogging/

Sort:  

Good you cleared away that trouble and can focus on positive things again now ;) Welcome!

Welcome! Have fun here on Steemit

Every lifestyle blogger should forget to blog. You are too busy living to write about it. That's what makes you authentic.

Hello Anna and welcome to steemit. Glad you chose to make your way back to some social media and blogging. Look forward to seeing some of your content!

Welcome to the community
So glad to have you here. Your writing here was so refreshing and inspiring. I really look forward to seeing your future posts.

I also seek to...

"reach the hearts of people with a positive gesture"
That's always my focus with every post. It seems to work well as people on here want the real stuff!

I'm wishing you the best and want to affirm what you said. Just start! Write write write!

You can join our STEEMITIAN GROUP THROUGH THIS LINKhttps://chat.whatsapp.com/KYRoeYqLBj3KLBUMpO6n62

Welcome to the community. I'm new on here as well, but really enjoying the engagement so far. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out! Cheers.

Hi Anna and welcome! I'm also new to this platform and already love how easy it is to interact with others. Tavel & books are passions of mine as well, so I'm already looking forward to reading more from you!!
Followed & upvoted :)

Welcome to Steemit Anna! I didn't know you were a writer, that's awesome :) looking forward to what else you create here ❤️

Hi Anna. You have a beautiful smile. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72