Dear Steemit Community.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I figured as an introduction post, I should keep things simple:

  • Identify myself,
  • state my intentions for Steemit, and
  • start interacting with the community.

So... hello. I'm Anya Ehrim. I've been seeking a community where I can casually post my art and writing without too much judgment. Steemit's blog-like format fits this need very well, and I chose here because I love that my participation can genuinely support others in the community. It feels very fair. Actually, I might end up participating in discussions more than filling in my own blog roll. I'm sure the community would not be opposed to that in the slightest. :-)

I'm particular to politics, science, anime, and gaming so I'll be most active in those tags (in addition to art and writing). I'm also a major advocate for basic income (a type of welfare reform), but I won't be using Steemit to write or talk much about it. I do that too much everywhere else, and want this place to be more for self-improvement and medicating... if that makes sense.

Here are places you can find me when I'm not on Steemit:

Facebook - Twitter - Reddit - Medium - YouTube - Tumblr - Patreon - Personal Site

I can also be directly contacted through Discord (Ehrim#0103) or Line (kohakunamida).

...Hmm...

For my first blog post, I was thinking of some organic/creative way to further prove my identity. My only idea so far is to take one of my recent digital art pieces and post screenshots of it deconstructed into its various layers. Would that be interesting? Maybe the community would like me to make something new? I wouldn't mind that, either. Both sound like fun.

At any rate, thanks so much for having me. Cheers!

Sort:  

Hello anyaehrim! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steem Community @anyaehrim! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome. I hope you like it here. Have an upvote for starters ;)

The reception has been amazing so far. Thank you. ^_^

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Thank you! It's going to be like a turtle's-pace walk in the park.

Haha I think you sufficiently proved your identity. Most of the people who are pretending to be someone else are pretty obviously fake. That being said creativity is always good.

"Actually, I might end up participating in discussions more than filling in my own blog roll." This is actually one of the pieces of advice that I always give to new users. Before your blog starts getting attention, it is often much more profitable to comment than it is to post, both in terms of quality follower (as opposed to the bot and the spammer followers that we all have) growth and payouts. However it is important to have a nice balance between comments and lengthy posts but it is up to you to determine what that balance is.

Watch out for spammers who leave some generic compliment like "great post" or something. They are trying to get you to upvote and follow but they rarely, if ever, reciprocate the kindness so it is best to save your upvotes for people who you think deserve them. There are some scammers floating around too so stay away from shady looking links but that is true of the internet in general and I am sure you don't need me to tell you that.

The site can be a little weird and take some getting used to. If you are trying to look for tags, either to consume content or as a place to post your content, it is best to replace the tag name in the address bar with the one that you are trying to look for. Doing that will save you some of the headaches that I had when I started.

At the moment the price of steem is a little low and, as a result, so are payouts, particularly for newer users who don't have a reliable following yet. Don't let that discourage you. Things are slow for everyone when they first start. The low price has some advantages too. You get more SP in your payouts (and that is super important) and there is far less competition for attention with fewer people posting at the moment.

Sorry about the length of the comment but hopefully some of that will come in handy at some point. Judging by what you wrote, I think you will do fine here.

Good luck.

Such a long reply of advice! <3 Thanks especially for the tagging tip because I noticed the navigation was a bit strange.

And yes, yes yes. I have definitely noticed a lot of strange replies, so I keep coming back to upvote the real comments, especially in this first post. I'm sure that'll have to change that behavior in the future to make sure my vote has some power.

Also it's also a very good tip to just not click links which go off-site (Tumblr is so much more dodgy in that regard). I've already found a great community through Discord though, so I hope to support it as much as possible.

Thanks again. <3

Hellooooo and welcome! Would love to see deconstructed art! Hope you enjoy it here ☺️

Hello back. I'm glad you like the idea. I'm still thinking of other things I could possibly do, too, but nothing seems as solid or engaging, content-wise so far. I'm actually good at writing solid blocks of superfluous text... er... I mean explanative Reddit replies, articles, and short stories... So yes... It's definitely not the talent for a tl;dr Internet audience. ^_^;

Nice to meet you @anyaehrim

Please post a introduction on Dtube or Dlive because I want engage with your contents.

Thank you :)

I'll definitely look into DTube if relations with YouTube slide even further down the mud hill.

Welcome to Steemit! I look forward to see your posts 🙌🏻 Enjoy the journey and have fun!!

Your article is very exciting!

Your reply is equally exciting. Thank you. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27