Hey there Steemit! / New to Steemit - #introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

selfie_arch
Source: Arch Briceño

Hello, fellow Steemians, glad to be joining, at last!

Alas, it is most appropriate to greet all of you to reduce the tension and the fear of creating new and all-original content for your enjoyment and critique. I’m entering strange waters, here, so wish me luck in my future endeavors, please (Haha).

A part of me feels becoming a member of Steemit is just the natural thing to do, because of all the time I spend on the Internet, trying to make a living and make due at the end of each month. It’s funny, ‘cause in turn I’ve become what I like to call a hyper geek, for all the cultural references I become acquainted with everyday, all of the news I get to read about my favourite stuff and so on. Thanks to my friends @gooze and @aidnessanchez for suggesting I should enter Steemit, I can’t wait to start posting my creative work!

I would like to make my experience as a freelance writer on Steemit as engaging as it can be. I’m a true believer when it comes to collective nurturing, which refers to the action of creating an environment that’s intellectually challenging and enriching, at the same time. For the time being, I’ll be preparing my posts’ schedule and a framework for the subjects I would like to write about.

It would be extremely interesting to have the feedback factor influence my posts a lot, in the sense that I believe it will be more productive for both me and my readers to interact in a way that allows the betterment of the information I share and how I share it. I intend that to be the key element of my activity on Steemit. Hope that sounds plausible for you, guys.

Do not hesitate to leave a comment, a request or a suggestion in future posts, as I’ll be ready to deliver my opinion on anything you would like to explore with me!

To wrap it up, I’m leaving a list of 10 things you should know about me, at least, preliminarily:

  1. I’m Venezuelan, born in Valencia, in the state of Carabobo, on March 26th, 1992 (Therefore, I’m an Aries), and raised in Cumaná (The primogenial city of the Americas, founded more than 500 years ago), in the state of Sucre, since I was 7 years old.
  2. My parents did this thing of feeding me a lot of English content when I was little. I remember we had satellite TV (Directv) and a bunch of VHS movies when I was 4, and every time I was in front of the screen, I was hearing English-spoken dialogues and reading Spanish subtitles or none at all! And so I became acquainted with my second language. I’ve been an autodidact of the language (For the most part) ever since. Videogames made a lot of impact on that too.
  3. My dad taught me to use computers with one of those ‘all-in-one’ machines that had what is now the earliest version of Windows, which you had to turn on by getting into the MS-DOS console and type in a bunch of commands. I remember I used to play Pac-Man on it.
  4. I consider myself to be of average intelligence with a little extra on the sides (Haha). My academic records don’t agree with me, though. Either way, I’ve always been intellectually curious.
  5. My favorite music genre is alternative rock and getting into it and knowing about it in-depth, I got to discover the artists I currently consider my strongest influences, when it comes to music and composing and so on.
  6. I started doing amateur writing when I was 14, together with a friend. Then, when I was 15, I wanted to write a book. I got to the 100th page but ultimately failed to push myself to finish it.
  7. When I was 18, I started an alt-rock/hardcore band which my friends and I re-named a bunch of times, mostly because the names were absolutely ridiculous (Haha): Stratocuspid, Lost For Vengeance, Light At the End…
    I was the singer (Yeah, I sing) and we did a couple of gigs. Then, we recorded two songs but we ended up abandoning the thing when we started attending college. We would like to get together again, though, so we’ll see what happens.
  8. In the year 2012, I moved to the state of Nueva Esparta, which is also known as “Isla de Margarita” (Or The Caribbean’s Pearl), which Christopher Colombus named after an Austrian princess, whose name was Margarita. There, I intended to study and become a Bachelor in Modern Languages in Universidad de Margarita but due to bad financial planning and my country’s economic deterioration, I was forced to drop out in 2016. I was 20 at the time I entered.
  9. Even though my stay at the university in Margarita was continuously interrupted, I was able to collect some useful knowledge. As of today, I can say that knowledge serves as the foundation of my labors as a freelancer. I’ve landed jobs through freelance websites because of it and that’s one thing I’m sure proud of.
  10. For all of the things I had to leave undone or incomplete, and all of the times I got depressed for not being able to accomplish my goals, I’ve built a new and more positive mindset or perspective, which I’ve set to be the foundation of my content creation initiative. I have three mantras, which govern my entire philosophy: a) I am and always will be my own individual, b) I expect nothing from anyone or anything, and c) I ought to renounce my ego. I hope these three phrases will guide me in the creation for myself and the ones around me of a thriving environment, in which we all push ourselves to break our boundaries and become better and better.

Thank you for reading and hope to be sharing my original content with you guys very soon!

Arch

Sort:  

Hey there Arch! Welcome!! I just joined yesterday welcome aboard!! I like the line about average intelligence with a little extra on the side lol!! Glad to have you along for this ride check out my blog if you get a chance to I’ll be throwing you and upvote and a follow! Cheers!

Thank you, already checked your blog out, let's stay in touch to make collaborations later!

Welcome to steemit Arch! hope you enjoy your time here :)

Thanks, I hope so too!

Hello buddy, good introduction and welcome to Steemit!

Hey there, thanks for your support, remember to follow, I'll follow back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60