My Introduction - How I Climbed Mount Everest At The Age Of 16

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Everest 3.JPG

Namaste from India! My name is Arjun Vajpai and I am a mountaineer who dreamt of climbing Everest at the age 16 and I achieved it! On the 22nd of May 2010 at 6:18am, time stopped for me. Where was I? I was standing at 29,035 feet, on the roof of this world - Mt. Everest, unfurling the Indian National Flag, becoming the youngest person ever to climb Mt. Everest at that point of time.

IMG_0666.JPG

There was a small Buddha statue at the summit, placed there by the Sherpa's. I knelt down and bowed down in front of it. I felt complete. When I got up and looked around, I felt like I ruled the world. I was standing at the highest point of this earth with Himalayas stretched out below me and nothing to obstruct my view. The earth was bending round in all directions and the sun was rising from behind it, that too below my eye level. Half of the sky was still dark and I could see the sun rays travel in the sky lighting up the world inch by inch. That was it! My soul was hooked to this world and I knew there and then - this is what I want for the rest of my life.

15181671_635589836621433_1407557234078723292_n.jpg

Since then I have become the youngest person in the world to climb five of the fourteen highest peaks in the world.

  1. Mt. Everest 2010
  2. Mt. Lhotse (4th highest peak in the world) 2011
  3. Mt. Manaslu (8th highest mountain in the world) 2011
  4. Mt. Makalu (5th highest mountain in the world) 2016
  5. Mt. Cho Oyu (6th highest mountain in the world) 2016

Cho Oyu summit.JPG

Manaslu 2.jpg

I was born and brought up in the city Noida in India. My dad is an army veteran and my mother is a warrior, like all mothers are! Since my school days I was very much into sports like karate, taekwondo, football and hockey. I was never to be found in classrooms. Every day after my mom dropped me off to school, I would head straight to the playground. The concept of mugging up literature in school and jotting them down in exams never interested me so my marks were always below average which was a big headache for my parents, obviously!

In 2009, at the age of 15, I went for my Basic and Advanced Mountaineering Course in Uttarkashi, India. This is where my passion for the mountains was groomed into the right direction and during our summit attempt on Mt. DKD 2 in the advance course; I was identified as Everest material and my instructors nurtured me and boosted my confidence to climb Everest. Turning this dream into a reality was no easy task.

1914515_172032941053_4011184_n.jpg

1914515_172086826053_656428_n.jpg

Apart from being a mountaineer, I work as a motivational speaker across various corporate, schools and college.

Currently, I live in Noida with my core team. We are working on various projects which will revolutionize the outdoor culture in India very soon. Mountaineering is a sport where one requires immense physical and mental strength, so when I am not in the mountains, I am always training and preparing myself for the next expedition. My training starts at 3:30am and goes up to 11-12 hours a day which is divided in specifically designed sessions.

IMG_4962.jpg

IMG_4909.jpg

My next expedition begins on 1st of April 2018 to the 3rd highest mountain in the world, Kangchenjunga (8586m). I was at Kangchenjunga in 2017 but due to bad weather, we had to abandon the expedition. This would be the most challenging expedition for me so far as I am planning to attempt it without the use of supplementary oxygen and without the support of a personal Sherpa. The last successful summit on Kangchenjunga was back in 2013. Since then, all attempts have failed or ended in disaster. With only 187 summiteers so far and death rate up to 25%, Kangchenjunga is one of the most difficult and dangerous mountains in the world. I am training day and night for the expedition, leaving no stones unturned. With only 30 days left, I am very excited but also very nervous at the same time.

I will be writing about my experiences and journey on the highest mountains of the world, about my training regime, posting some crazy pictures from the previous expeditions and also live updates once my Kangchenjunga expedition kicks off next month!

Thank you @its.parth.hey for introducing me to Steemit. I am very excited to begin my journey on Steemit and looking forward to connecting with all of you! Cheers!

You can follow me on:
Facebook - www.facebook.com/VajpaiArjun
Instagram - www.instagram.com/arjunvajpai
Twitter- www.twitter.com/arjunv_everest

IMG_5848.jpg

Sort:  

Very impressive achievements!


Welcome to Steemit @arjunvajpai!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

You got a 1.59% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @its.parth.hey!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Welcome buddy!

Very impressive achievements! Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you so much. Very excited to be here.

Hello And Welcome To Steemit!

It is a platform like none other. You can get to know people from all over the world. If you continue to post great informative content you will grow a following in no time!

Start following some authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Follow Me! Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following.

I have created some great YouTube videos that you can watch to learn all about Steemit and how to succeed using it. A new video will be released every week so consider subscribing to learn even more about Steemit! If you ever have any questions, or need help with something, feel free to comment on the videos as well.

Best Of Luck!
Spencer Coffman
Read My Latest Article: 9 Intelligence Types

Welcome to Steemit! I have been following you for quite some time now. So good to see you on Steemit!

Hi Nicole! Thank you so much.

Hello and welcome to steemit @arjunvajpal

Glad to see you here:) people like you make me feel proud of being Indian..

Looking forward to your updates around here:)

Good luck for your steemit journey:)

Means a lot buddy! I will keep climbing mountains and keep making India proud. Thank you so much for stopping by.

Welcome to steemit ... you must have seen some amazing and crazy stuff! We're also happy you found our @travelfeed project .. I hope we can welcome you to our Discord Server soon too!

Hi! Very soon. Thank you for stopping by. Cheers!

Hello and welcome to Steemit! Follow you to learn more about you! Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81