Hi Steemit This is Cheryl Wink from the green hills of Durban, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My husband Peter, a sculptor, and I live in the once peaceful small country village called Waterfall, which over the years has developed into quite a busy little town.

Our three beautiful daughters, all talented in their own way, have left the nest to nestle with their own nestling's, leaving us with empty nest syndrome. We now have three Labradors and a little Sausage dog who keep us very, very busy indeed. Between the grand children, animals and the arts, life can become quite hectic in our household at times, but I would never want to change it at all!

Peter is a full time sculptor & artist, I on the other hand do pottery and teach little ones to keep me busy. I also love cooking and do a bit of writing as well. My dear friend @lizelle has been nagging me for months to join Steemit. She even did a post on my hubby’s art, showing the steemit whale !whale.jpg Well! I must say, I was very hesitant at first. I joined on the 5th Jan 2018, and all I can say is that I am pleasantly surprised by the broad spectrum of interesting topics and the wonderful community of people on Steemit, you are awesome and I am so grateful to Lizelle for introducing me.I would like to share some of Peter’s latest pieces of art and a little bit of my pottery class.torso.jpgpottery4.jpg
20170317_143635-1.jpgzebra.jpg
The Torso is made from kiaat wood, and the oil painting is called; after midnight. The zebra is also a oil painting. pottery1.jpg
Just a little peek of my pottery class.

Then something special happened the other day. We were in the garden when we noticed quite a large bird trapped in our greenhouse. It looked exhausted! Peter went in to check if it was hurt and to save it from the dogs, who were quite excited by now! It was an African Goshawk. He gently picked it up, took it into the house to revive it before releasing it. What a beautiful specimen of a bird, God is an amazing artist and creator, we felt so honored20171230_151747.jpg to have had the privilege of being so close to such a magnificent creature.
This is an African Goss Hawk

Thank you steemit for giving me the opportunity to share a bit of my life with other Steemians.
Original content by @ artywink

Please comment, up vote and re steem if you enjoyed the post.

Sort:  

Very nice content, the Goss Hawk at the end really cracked me up :')
I am also new to Steemit, so please check out my blog if you're interested. I tend to bring new and interesting stuff on daily basis.
Keep up the good work!

thank you for the kind words and stopping by my post.

Welcome to Steemit @artywink! I am sure you will have tons of fun here.

Thank you so much had a look at your post very interesting and good photography like it.

Welcome To Steemit.com

Follow me @imbooster

Welcome @artywink. Follow me at https://steemit.com/@eddy2cul and like my posts. I'll do the same ☺

thankyou will have alook at your post.

hello, welcome to the stemit community. I invite you to my blog, give follow and vote for my last post. @idma

thank you great to be on steemit.

Welcome to steemit at long last @artywink!
I really like that Steemit Whale sculpture.
Look forward to reading about your artwork :)
Well done!

thank you @lizelle for introducing me. still have a great deal to learn

If l may say Cheryl; well done!
You guys are so talented, and doors will open with your Steemit blogs!

thanks for kind words

Hi there!
Welcome, so glad that you are already part of teamsouthafrica!

thank you so much@fates its great to be here. still a whole lot to learn.

I totally understand.
I will PM you on Discord to give you some guidance.
But Im sure youll find your way

Welcome @artywink. I am so glad that @lizelle nagged you enough to join us! Good luck on your ventures and I am sure that you will enjoy it very much and be very successful! Check out the steemiteducation tag and if you write educational posts perhaps a tutorial on your pottery then feel free to use this tag.

thank you so much @giantbear for your encouragement it is greatly appreciated. I will most definitely use steemiteducation tag. thank you so much.

Thank you so very much for the encouragement & guidance @giantbear! @artywink & hubby are super talented, so glad she's joined :)

Ha ha...I can see that. I have forced many of my friends on to steemit and they are all very happy and active here.

Welcome to a fellow KZNian! And a grandmother to boot! This is fun, hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85