First Post! (and a little John Mayer riff)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

A big hello to everyone! I know how most people don't really enjoy introductory posts, so I'll try to make this one short, simple, and perhaps interesting.

17239881_10154390330760895_404750495337418809_o.jpg

Getting into Steemit

I discovered steemit at the height of the Bitcoin craze late last year. At the time I was super fascinated by the philosophy and history behind Bitcoin (decentralisation & the subprime mortgage fiasco), and the sheer brilliance behind the Proof of Work (POW) protocol. This for me was akin to opening pandora's box into the world of cryptocurrency.

I truly believe that just as Bitcoin and other altcoins have the potential to replace fiat currencies, and take power away from corrupt central financial institutions, Steemit too has the power to disrupt the social media corporations that have essentially monopolised our waking hours for their own profit, leaving us with nothing more than a severe addiction to our phones.

I'm not typically inclined to posting on any social platform, and so I hope Steemit will provide an incentive of sorts - to finally do what I'm truly passionate about - Writing and music. So on that note, here is what I hope to achieve through posting on Steemit:

  1. First and foremost - To create good quality content in every post
  2. Resurrect my lifelong dream of writing
  3. Post about guitars and original music
  4. Book reviews!

I hope to use this as a challenge for myself to stop putting things off, and start creating good content. Thank you so much for reading this! A shout out to my colleague @kokuryo for introducing me to @teammalaysia and also for encouraging me to post.

I'll leave you with a short clip of a riff from one of my favourite songs - "Slow dancing in a burning room" by John Mayer. This will be the first ever clip of me playing guitar on the internet, so please go easy on me.

Sort:  

Hey Arwin, looking forward to videos from you!

Hi there Az!! Great to see you here :) I'll try to post more videos! @azsamad

Sweet, looking forward to it. By the way, I just posted the 2nd part of the lesson series. It's all chords you know I'm sure but feel free to direct your friends who may dig it. Thanks Arwin! :)

welcome to steemit. Cool song l like john mayer

Thanks bro, always great to meet a fellow john mayer fan :)

hey man. my wife loves John Mayer! hope you have a great time here. and do give OpenMic contest a try! :)

Hey man! That's great, I hope to do more John Mayer songs in the future. Thanks for the dropping by and for the welcome :)

Ah John Mayer~ Nice guitar playing! That was really a good cover, wish the vid was longer. Looking forward to see more of your covers/originals! Welcome to steemit Arwin! :D

@arwinzen .. @michelleloh168 has a great voice. Someday in future perhaps u can play the guitar and she sings.. haha should be a great combination!

@michelleloh @kokuryo Thank you for the encouragement! Hoping to post longer videos soon :) Just listened to your covers from the Greatest Showman - really beautiful voice!

Thanks Arwin. Hope to collaborate with you one fine day :D In the meanwhile, yes please upload more!

Yeah.... looking forward to the collaboration!!

Welcome to Steemit, hope you get to achieve your goals :). It is always good to see someone speak the universal language: Music.

Colleague for so long.. first time see u play guitar.. duh.. hahah
Good start in steemit! keep posting more music! a lot of talented musicians in teammalaysia too. Future gathering will be so much fun!

Ahaha hopefully you'll get to see more :P Thanks for encouraging me to post!

Welcome to steemit !!
I hope you enjoy finding common issues with people and learning new things.
you can follow my blog @jangkeum and even give me upvote ...

Thanks man. Sure will check out your blog :)

Congratulations @arwinzen, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @arwinzen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Congratulations @arwinzen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85