Hello Steemit, I'm Ifunanya and I'm from NigeriasteemCreated with Sketch.

I have tasted and danced with fear. I have felt all kind of excitement and I know what it is to feel pain. Trust me; I wear my emotions on my sleeves, I just have to roll it up and you see all shades of Ifunanya.

I am a 24 years old girl who is still striving to make meaning of her place in this world. Within these years that I have lived, I have met a lot of people who have left their mark on me.

I studied Philosophy in the University, did my 1 year National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) in Shendam, Plateau state, Nigeria. This place was a totally different place from where I am used to. It's in the North Central. I had the choice of redeploying, but I chose to stay for only one reason - I wanted to have a new experience.

IMG-20160702-WA0012.jpg

So, I stayed for one year. Teaching their kids, eating their food, and drinking their water. I learnt a little of Goemai, Shendam’s native language, and a little of Hausa too.

Then, my one year was complete, and I didn't want to go. I had the choice of staying back and picking a job. But I also didn't want to stay. I had been away from home for a year, and there were little opportunities I saw myself getting if I'd stayed back.
(In my next post, I will tell you all about the industrious people of Shendam)

Let me emphasize here how much I love meeting new people and listening to them tell their story.

So, I came home and eight months later, I'd worked five jobs as a sales attendant, a hostess, a social media manager, Local Guide (Which I do not consider job anyways but which at some point in my life, when I was leaning towards depression, I thought it could be what I was supposed to do since I didn't know what I was here for) and my current job, as a Front End Web Developer Intern.


Me, as a social media manager. LOL!


Hello, Software developer 😊

Everything happened all so fast. Oh yeah, I am still broke, but 2017 was the year It all happened to me.

So I'm supposed to introduce myself yeah?

I wanted to start my introduction with “Hello, I'm a software developer” but it didn't feel right to me. I had my early years being in the arts, ( I still love the arts) but I don't want to shove it down my “I'm a software developer”.

I am a storyteller. It comes very natural to me. I made my friends believe a story I told them was true for four years! When they ask me “Ifunanya, how do you do it”, I tell them I have an active imagination.

I also love books.

People who love books say they love reading. Yes, I love reading but I can count how many times I read last year. I'm becoming lazy!😥

But I love the sight of books being together in one place, I love sniffing them, I love being seen with them. So, what does that make me? Lol.

I don't know when my love for photography started but I remember travelling a lot when I was little, and looking through the window of our car, taking in beautiful sights and wondering if I could have them all together. I started taking photos the same time I cut my hair to go all natural.

map.PNG
So, I became a local guide when I saw I could be one with Google. It is fun contributing to helping people locate places easily on the map.

How did I become a software developer?
So, I'd always thought programming was for science inclined people. Then, I met some beautiful people who introduced me to Free Code Camp for a meet-up, and that was it. Four months and I'm still coding. Hallelujah!

And this sums it for me.
I love food
I love music (Huge Passenger fan) Jazz, Country, Rock, Classical, Blues

I will end my story with r. m Drake's quote which I find totally relatable...

"And in the end, she became more than what she expected. She became the journey, and like all journeys, she did not end, she just simply changed directions"

Sort:  

Thank you!!! I feel like I'm part of a family here. LOL!

Welcome to Steemit Ifunanya ! Enjoy Steeming and posting here..

Thank you! I am already feeling the vibes

If you like software dev - check out utopian.io here..
Welcome to the Steem World!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.
https://steemit.com/dtube/@maneki-neko/rlfwsqlj


I wish you all the best here on Steem!

I will also use the tag : @originalworks for this post, this will summon a robot that, if you wrote this original article, will give you an additional upvote. :)

Oh, you are so kind, maneki-neko. Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit Ifunanya, very unique name ;) as unique as all what your work experience are. Hope you enjoy your stay here.

Oh, puroypoi, I know I will, thank you. There are very interesting and intelligent people here. I'm already enjoying my stay. lol! And yes, Ifunanya is a unique name, known to the Igbos. It means "Love".

Hi @aynanufi. You have a beautiful smile. :-)

I know, yeah? Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54