Hi. I'm new, and it's getting steemy in here.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

What's up my fellow Steemers?

Well. I'm new to Steemit, if you haven't guessed. I figured I'd do the whole
"Tell everyone a little about yourself" thing. Just like freshman year syllabus week.

  • So how did I find Steemit?
          I first found out about Steemit from the #gridcoin community. From first glance it looked like an OK social media platform, but nothing too special. After a couple weeks of grinding some research and making some coin, I figured I would join Steemit and try to become a "productive" member of the Gridcoin community. I just wanted to have a way to communicate with others interested in helping science while making money. Well it turns out Steemit is pretty badass. Take the basic concept of Reddit, make it open source, and slap it on a blockchain with a crypto currency. Sign me the hell up.

  • A little about me
          I guess I should tell you a little about myself. I just your average college guy. I procrastinate for every class, waste all of my free time, and drink way too much. Too bad mastering the fine art of beer bonging won't help me find job or start a family.

      Life is cruel

      All kidding aside. I'm majoring in CIS ( Computer Information Systems). I can read about history for hours on end. I love being a jackass (if you haven't noticed). I love everything related to tech and computers. I love pretty much all types of music. Rock, Metal, Indie, and Alt. especially. I also have a love for science and science fiction. I can't get enough of Star Wars, Star Trek, and especially Warhammer 40k I also have a passion for entrepreneurship and making money. I can't think of anything more fulfilling than being your own boss and building your own business.

Speaking of money...

  • Gridcoin
          I figured I should touch on Gridcoin, considering it's what made me join Steemit. It's a great crypto, where you use your computer to help scientists crunch numbers to better humanity, all while making some cash on the side. Talk about a win win situation. I highly recommend anyone reading this, even if you're new to cryptocurrencies, to check out Gridcoin.
  • End of Shameless Plug

      Well that's about it. I can't wait to actually be a part of the Steemit community and start networking with other people interested in Gridcoin. Thanks for taking the time to read about me. I assume you're highly disappointed, but at least I tried. Right?

...Right?!

...Well...Whatever

Peace

Sort:  

As you can see the Gridcoin community upvote good content readily. Welcome to Steemit.

A neat way to see everything thats going on on the community is to use the chainbb view of steemit https://beta.chainbb.com/forum/gridcoin

Welcome aboard! Good gridcoin content is always very welcome ;) see you around!

Welcome to Steemit, @b-reis! Quality Gridcoin content is in high demand here on Steemit, it gets upvoted every time :)

You can also use #beyondbitcoin tag when writing about Gridcoin, to reach wider crypto-audience (they are all weary of Proof-of-Work there). And of course #science for sciency content, we wanna know all about pulsars, prime numbers and medicines you have discovered so far :)

Thanks a lot @vortac! I'll try my best to pump out some good content for the Gridcoin community! I'm all about spreading the word about Gridcoin.

Welcome to Steem @b-reis I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit and first and foremost welcome to Gridcoin!

Nice introduction, welcome to steemit and hope you enjoy the comfort of the Gridcoin community!

Welcome to Steemit. I believe you will enjoy your experience in our community. Feel free to make friends and explore. Much love!
George.

Congratulations @b-reis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @b-reis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @b-reis, welcome to SteemIT. I hope that you enjoy it here and that you find as well as share great content. Now come and give us your motivational quote HERE , Yours sincerely @johanbosman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83