The Journey form success to failure to learning and success

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

This was, is and will be an ongoing journey. everyone will be observing these steps as I observed. I got my first job letter 2 days after my last paper of graduation back in 2014. I was lucky enough to be hired in a multinational company "The Meindhardt Pvt Ltd" at the start of my career as a research assistant. However, it was a short-term job and it ended after 2 months. I was unemployed, depressed for three months but got another job as "Research executive" in a private company. This was a decent job with free residence, internet, laundry, and food along with good pay structure, but, I was not satisfied as I always wanted my business. After exactly one year, I resigned from the job and started my e-learning company in Pakistan.
The Struggle Starts
It was probably the first e-learning company in Pakistan, but, I along with 2 other partners were in-experienced and short of money. The real struggle starts here when we have to rent an office, build a prototype and market it. Investment opportunities were limited and we don't have enough money to run the office, however, somehow we were managing it with our freelance earning. we were unable to hire employees due to financial restrictions, so, we contracted an IT team on equity basis to work on our prototype as none of us were from IT background. The IT team failed to deliver and we ended the contract. After four months, we were again at Zero.
Success
However, after six months, we managed to secure an investment of $15000 to work on the prototype. This was a great success for us and we were back in the business. We rented a new business, hired 3 software developers. We have done exceptionally well in the marketing as I was interviewed in the leading tech magazines and invited as guest speakers in universities.
14495276_1182437161823291_8591660023319871790_n.jpg
This is me addressing in one of the leading universities of Pakistan.
We were praised by everyone in the industry. With the exceptional hard work, commitment and dedication of the IT Team, company (UpSkill) was officially launched. it was a big day for me as a co-founder and people started enrolling in our courses.
Failure
Few months after launching, we were out of money, laid off employees and shut down our office. We tried to run the office from home and meanwhile tried to secure another round of investment but investment opportunities were limited and the company was officially shut down. I calculated mistakes for one month. I learned some valuable lessons from this experience. For example, our investment spending strategies were extremely poor. Renting a new office was a mistake. we spent a lot of money and time in offline marketing that was another mistake. we entered the right market at the wrong time as the market was not ready for online learning. I was devastated, depressed and in the loan as well.
Learning
I was working as a freelance writer after quitting my company, but, was unable to earn enough due to lower rates. One day, I sat down and started researching about the latest skills that I can learn and earn enough. I choose digital media marketing with particular focus on social media marketing. I learned social media marketing online, basics of other marketing channels and passed "Google Analytics" certification in the first attempt. I spent money on my professional learning as I purchased courses from Udemy to learn digital media marketing.
Success
I started promoting my writing skills on social media and in the last two months, I earned around $900 and i acquired all of these clients from social media while spending only $50 on Facebook ads. What happened next at the end of last month was pretty exciting. I was contacted by one of my friends who was a struggling singer. He was done with the recording of his song but doesn't know anything about social media marketing. I discussed my social media marketing strategies with him for his song and he was impressed. So, he offered me a contract on monthly basis. Now, i am earning $400/month from one client for social media. I believe, this is just a start for me as i can earn $4000 or even $40,000 per month as well while sitting at home. However, this needs alot of learning and i am consistently learning new skills. So, learn new skills to get noticed :-)

Sort:  

@basit92, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Welcome to Steem, @basit92!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3011 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.8 : Rewards and Links tabs on Busy.

just installed :-)

Hello @basit92. Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll like being here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01