Potential Energy

#First post!

I am excited and cautiously optimistic. I discovered Steem from a [MarketWatch article] (http://www.marketwatch.com/story/new-digital-currency-sees-2000-price-rise-in-a-week-2016-07-15) so I created an account and have been trolling here for almost a week now. I've been amazed at the technology and the concept, and I realized I have sooo much to learn. But I think I'm hooked, and I feel like I 'got in on something at the ground level'.

I was a little intimidated to write this first post because:

  • I had no clue how to properly edit with syntax or markdown (just learned the basics)
  • I thought I had nothing to offer this l33t community of what seems like hardcore crypto/blockchain peeps
  • I just wanted to read and learn more!

BUT I DID IT! I'm honored to be part of the community and part of this emerging technology. I think it has the potential to change the world; I really do. It touches on so many facets of life that touch EVERYONE, that need to have major overhauls: currency, value of opinions, and payment for valuable services.

Currencies are manipulated and debased. Opinions are like, well you, know - everyone has one and they all stink. And people that contribute and have a vested interest in things should be rewarded. I have no clue if this experiment is viable in the long-run, or where it will go, but one thing is for sure - it was potential energy.

Small tangent - I work in the FIRE sector so I see fuckers getting paid ridiculous amounts of money to shuffle money and paper around. But I'm also a redditor/imgurian, I have a fascination with monetary policy, tech, and digital currencies, and I see our generation and those to follow's futures being pillaged by these massive debt burdens being pushed on us. So I empathize with the younger generation of people that are basically being pushed into serfdom... I'm low 30's so I walk the line. But I consider myself one of you :) I'm curious as to why this can't be bigger and better than Bitcoin. This has everything Bitcoin has but more. I'm certain that I'm ignorant of some factor here, so I'd appreciate a lesson here.

Apologies if this was a ramble. As I said I don't know how to edit well in this and I just pounded this bitch out on my laptop while on what is ending up being a way too long break from work. And I have quite honestly never really blogged...

One love, BMM

Sort:  

Welcome You to Wonderful Steemit World @xem!

Awesome to have you onboard!

Welcome to Steemit! My Friend- Greeting From @dog

Damnit, botched the edit

welcome beastmastermason get ready for a wild ride....

Way to step up and do your first post. Welcome to the community!

You may consider doing a verification post. Or if you want to get some Steem Power, checkout https://steemit.com/steem/@imjefe/adding-steem-power-in-less-than-5-minutes

Thanks @imjefe definitely doing this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59