Introduction; Unchartered Territory

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Although I have known about Steemit for some time now I haven't taken the leap of faith to use the platform and connect with like-minded people thus far. Im planning on shaking all that up, starting now.

First a little about myself. My name is Ben and i'm an Osteopath living in the far north of NZ. For those who don't know what an Osteopath is or does, we are simply mechanics for bodies. I plan to go into the philosophy and thinking behind what I do in future posts :)

25438994_814798308705494_7042741465782768393_o.jpg
This is me on the left standing next to my idol on the right. Let me know below if you know who he is :D

For the most part I like to soak up the sun on one of our many beautiful beaches while hanging out with mates listening to tunes. Im totally crypto mad since first learning about it 18 months ago and try my best to contribute to the space and thriving community that encompasses it.

In my downtime I am always learning new things that I would like to share and discuss with fellow steemians.
Subjects of interest include but are no limited to; biomechanics, neuroscience, pain science, crytpo, astrophysics, poker, environment and sustainability, health and fitness (especially natural health)

When i'm not boring my followers with educational content ;) I plan to showcase some of NZ's natural beauty and give snippets into my life when I think i've got something interesting to show.

42183015_2147347681950282_2011413496310267904_o.jpg
My beautiful backyard.......

Thats it for now but I promise there will be lots of cool and interesting things to come, hit follow and join me on this journey!

Sort:  

Hello bengiles

whats up, hows it going?

Welcome to Steemit @bengiles - Have a great time looking around :) Feel free to ask any questions you may have :)

Thanks will do, so far I like this place :)

Me alegra ver nuevos usuarios en la etiqueta #introduceyourself

Gracias por tú apoyo ydavgonzalez!
Im in the midst of learning spanish right now (one of my many side projects haha)

Welcome to Steemit! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! I explain this initiative on one of my previous post.

There are a number of great content creators on the platform to help you on your journey. I have used @gold84 guide as a starting reference for many tasks that can be done here on #Steemit. As I continued to expand this initiative, I continue to find great content and guides for new users such as this post from @finnian who not only includes a great step-by-step process of registering for #Steemit but also provides great security and engagement tips as well to help you on your journey.

Keep your eyes out for these tips and references to help you on your journey to becoming a minnow! It is also a great idea to follow some of the great projects being built on the #STEEM blockchain. You can see these projects here. Some of these projects provide you the ability to interact and engage within the community and have the potential to provide rewards for your engagement. For example, @actifit is a fitness app that tracks your daily activity which you can post to the blockchain and earn rewards for your participation. Another interesting project is @steemmonsters which is a digital trading card game that enables you to collect and battle with the community all within the #STEEM ecosystem. I wish you the best in your future endeavors!

Hi! It is fantastic to find another kiwi on Steemit. :)
So I wanted to drop off an invitation to our NZ group in Discord. We'd love to have you join us, to be able to take advantage of group things and connect with other kiwis. :)

tanz invite sml.jpg

(if the link has expired just yell out and I'll issue a fresh one)

We also have a @teamnz profile you could follow if you like, and keep up to date with news and other kiwis - we publish twice a week.

Hi @ravenruis, thanks for taking the time to comment Im glad to have joined this community :)
Could you explain what Discord is, i've heard it mention several times already but haven't got a clue what it is haha

No worries. :)
Discord is a separate site/app which allows people to chat and publish info. It's popular with gamers (non-Steemit), and you'll notice many Steemit groups use it.

This is the wiki, but I'm not sure it is really clear enough to give you a sense of what you're walking into, lol.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discord_(software)

Discord (software)
Discord is a proprietary freeware voice-over-Internet Protocol (VoIP) application designed for video gaming communities, that specializes in text, image, video and audio communication between users in a chat channel. Discord runs on Windows, macOS, Android, iOS, Linux, and in web browsers. As of May 2018, there are 130 million unique users of the software.

Chur bro thanks for that, learn something new everyday!


Welcome to Steemit @bengiles!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to steemit!
Wish u best of luck!
Think wisely,before u post!
Thats the best advice!
AND,B YOURSELF!

Im forever trying to think wisely haha, sometimes I like to believe I have achieved it :P
Thanks for the feedback!

Nice to meet you, Ben! Welcome to steemit. I really do love philosophy! I haven't noticed many people on steemit have taken this approach. Would be nice to read some of your thoughts on philosophy. Alan Watts is my favorite philosopher of our modern life :)

Best of luck!

Alan Watts is great, way ahead of his time!
Definitely will discuss some of Alan Watts' ideas on here in the future!
Thanks for taking time to read my post :)

Holy cow a Kiwi!

Glad to see you, I'll probably ask you about my buggered back soon...

No worries bro anytime haha
Where abouts do you live?

In Wellington

Kiwi's really are a bit thin on Steemit so we are trying to encourage things along - see @teamnz

https://steemit.com/@teamnz

I'm also aka @sift666 and @mg-nz, and there is @kiwideb and @andysantics48

https://steemit.com/steemit/@sift666/i-just-can-t-get-enough-of-sift666-where-can-a-get-some-more

Yea someone just mentioned @teamnz, have checked it out and followed :)
BTW Wellington rocks! Definitely my favourite big city in NZ

Hey bro welcome to steemit man glad to have you join us it’s been quite the ride for me so far and I’m sure if you stick with the site it will be the same for you

Solid post and keen to see more of what you have planned!

Also I had to drop in and say that it feels good to finally beat the all blacks in rugby lol! Go bokke!

See you around bruv! Cheers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha sup bro thanks for checking me out!

As for the game on the weekend as much as it hurts me to say the boks played great and deserved the win!

If only my might up top ^^ had his kicking boots on lol it might have been a different story :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48