You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Freewrite House is Open!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I hope this isn't, like, a support group for people who have become addicted to freewriting? Because I, like, like freewriting and don't want to stop, ok? EVER. So if this is some kind of, like, intervention or whatever, I'm telling you right up front this is not going to work? But on the other hand, if this house is in support of freewriting and, like, the freedom to write freely, that we are all born with as tiny little babies, I'm all about it? Because if we all just gave babies the freedom to write, I mean really write, you know, like, put a pen in their chubby little fingers and a piece of paper in front of them, they would be like, Dostoyevski or whatever by the time they were like, 10?

Sort:  

31 @bennettitalia

You are in the drawing 😀 I love your comment! And I am with you! Let's allow kids to be free and they will do great things!

😅 thanks @freewritehouse! I got a lil' silly there fer a minnit...

Hahaha, yeah, I know, like, exactly, like, what you're sayin, like totally, @bennettitalia ;) . I know you were just joshin around, but, i have a habit of "writing like I speak" at times--sometimes it's obnoxious, and I have to go back--other times, it's intentionl, and I keep it bc i like it! Like, you know what I mean?? ;)) . Good to see ya, @bennettitalia!

lolo yes, I do! Colloquial writing can be frustrating or fun.... it was a thin line with this comment and I kept wondering if I'd crossed it XD

Good to see you too @gjones15 :D

Yes, colloquialisms! God, have you by any chance read the book Trainspotting? It's what comes to mind as sort of the quintessential example of a difficult "colloquially-written" text; or, "A Clockwork Orange--* similar idea; though, by the end of the former, it had became a good bit easier to follow; and a neat way to get the reader "immersed" in the characters and their situation...

Yeah.. it's surprisingly tricky to pull it off on the page, is what I noticed writing the above. Not to overemphasize the idiosyncrasies of speech patterns to the point of parody, but to incorporate them enough to make the voice recognizable. One of those things I think maybe writers often make look easier than it is!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68870.08
ETH 3734.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73