Hello! I'm Ben. I'm New to Steemit.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi, I'm Ben.

Hi there. My name is Ben Slayton and I'm new to Steemit. Apparently, it's a good thing to introduce yourself around here. So here goes it.

Basics About Me

  • Married. I have such a wonderful wife, Kelsey.
  • Father. I have the best son and daughter in the world, Zeke and Etta Grace.
  • I'm a developer.
  • I like Node.js.
  • I own Loot Liquidators, an online discount store. We are currently on ebay, and will be launching our website soon.
  • I work for USimprints.

How I Learned About Steem

I heard about Steem, Steemit, SteemPower, SteemAllTheThings on Facebook (can I say that word around here? Just kidding) from @lukestokes. If my memory serves me right, I've known Luke for roughly four years after meeting him at a Nashville PHP meetup, where he was giving a talk on Hypermedia API's. Which, by the way, was a great talk. Luke is very knowledgeable on Hypermedia API's and I encourage you to read all his ramblings about them, if you consider yourself a developer. Luke's article here is a great place to start. Anyways, after seeing Luke's exciting facebook posts regarding Steemit, I decided to check it out for myself. So far, I've really enjoyed it.

While I still don't fully understand Steem(AllTheThings), I do have a small grasp on how it works and I'm still reading through the white paper. It think it's a super cool idea and I'm excited to see new ideas being driven with blockchain technology.

I don't see myself as a content creator that much. I mainly see myself as a content curator, though, I may end up writing from time to time. I do have a couple of content ideas in the back of my head that I may write about. After that, I'm not sure if I'll stick with it or not. Time will tell. I'd also love to get into mining but I honestly do not have the patience or time to maintain the hardware at my current stage in life. I will say that I've doubled my steem power that I was given on signup by curation, if I understand my correctly. :)

If anyone has anything to add that may make my verification more legit, let me know. :) I'm all ears. That's all for now. Thanks for reading.

-- Ben

Sort:  

Thanks for the shoutout, Ben! So glad you're here.

Helping Hand
Hi! Welcome!


"True happiness comes from the joy of deeds well done, the zest of creating things new." Antoine de Saint-Exupery

XEM Welcome You to Steemit!

Nice work on your second post. Very well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69488.13
ETH 3501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69