Introducing @BirthdayBoost!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Everyone loves a good birthday party!

@BirthdayBoost is a Steem community that celebrates its members' birthdays (either the day you were born or the day you joined the Steem community). On your special day you will receive a birthday boost from the community. Every other day of the year, we will collectively give birthday boosts out to other people!


source

What are the benefits of joining @BirthdayBoost?

  • The day you choose is your special day. No one else will be celebrated on that day. That means that only 365 people can join the community, so join now before all of the spots are filled!
  • You will receive a birthday boost from the community on your birthday, including ...
    • A full upvote from the @BirthdayBoost community account.
    • An upvote from every member of the community. (See more details below).
  • As the community grows, the goal is to provide each community member a share of @SteemBasicIncome on his/her birthday.

What is required to join the party?

1. Let us know your birthdate (day and month).

Remember that you can choose your actual birthday or your Steem birthday. Both are worthy of celebrating!

Did someone else take your special day? No worries. Choose another day, but try to choose a day in the month you celebrate one of your birthdays

We still have a lot of dates available. A red X means that a day has been chosen.


birthday boost calendar 5.png

For the most up-to-date calendar information, check out our latest update post.

Once you have meet all of the requirements, send me a Discord message or a encrypted message letting me know what day you chose. After I have confirmed that you meet all of the requirements, you will have your birthday party spot reserved.

Never Heard Of An Encrypted Message?

  1. Open your Steem Wallet
  2. Click Transfer under Steem or SBD
  3. The following screen will appear:
    a. From: Your Steem Account
    b. To: birthdayboost
    c. Amount: 0.001 (I will send you back the same amount to confirm your date)
    d. Memo: # The Date You Want
    • Example: # December 25
    • the hash tag then space makes the message encrypted

encrypted message.png

2. Delegate 15 Steem Power to @BirthdayBoost.


@BirthdayBoost is a community account that upvotes its members. As the account grows larger it can support its members with larger upvotes.

3. Follow the @BirthdayBoost voting trail.


The @BirthdayBoost voting trail (bdayboosttr) will upvote an average of two posts each day.

  1. A recent post written by the birthday honoree.
  2. The current @BirthdayBoost recap post written to celebrate the birthday honoree.

The main community account will upvote more than 2 posts each day in order to maximize curation rewards, but following the voting trail will only result in 2 upvotes.

See below for more information about the voting trail.

Who is organizing the party?


Hello, everyone! My name is @SumatraNate, and I have been a member of the Steem community since June 2017.

I have enjoyed creating content and building relationships, so I thought the next natural step in my Steem journey would be to start a support community for other members. And what a better way than to celebrate birthdays (either the day you took your first breath or the day you joined the Steem community).

IMG_0786.JPG

How to delegate Steem Power

The SteemIt SP Delegation Tool helps you correctly fill out the information required to delegate Steem Power via SteemConnect.

  1. Enter your Steem User ID as Delegator ID.
  2. Enter birthdayboost as Delegatee ID.
  3. Enter 15 as Amount.
  4. Click Delegate Via SteemConnect.com.

delegation tool.png


Once you confirmed that you entered the information correctly, click Continue.

steemconnect confirm.png


Enter the appropriate password. SteemConnect.com is the standard for logging into other Steem based sites.

steemconnect enter password.png

How to follow the @BirthdayBoost voting trail

In order to be apart of the community, you must follow the voting trail with an upvote that is worth at least 300 SteemPower. The reason for this requirement is so that every @BirthdayBoost is a significant one.

At present a 100% upvote from an account with 300 undelegated Steem Power is worth about $0.03. When the birthday calendar is completely filled in, our collective upvote will be worth $10.95 (at the current price of Steem).

  1. Click here to be directed to the @BirthdayBoost trail (which is set up on SteemAuto.com)
  2. Log into SteemAuto.com via SteemConnect.
  3. After bdayboosttr (the official @BirthdayBoost trail) has been added to your SteemAuto account, click the Settings button.
  4. Enter at least the minimum required percentage based on your undelegated Steem Power. Of course, you can upvote at a higher percentage than the required minimum!
  5. Set how many minutes after the post that you want to vote (recommended 25-30 minutes).

Use the following equation to determined your minimum voting percentage:
30,000 / Your Undelegated Steem Power = Voting Percentage

Examples:
300 SP = 100% vote
400 SP = 75% vote
500 SP = 60% vote
600 SP = 50% vote
1000 SP = 30% vote
3000 SP = 10% vote

What happens if a community member does not meet the requirements on an ongoing basis?

Birthday parties are meant to be fun, so we want our community members to always feel welcomed, but we do have expectations for our community members.

A community member who does not continue to meet the requirements will be given a warning about the status of their membership.

If that member does not meet the requirements after a second warning then he/she will be removed from the party and another person will be allowed to fill the empty spot.

Got questions?

Reach out to me in the comment section. I look forward to celebrating many birthdays with you!

Sort:  

Hello birthdayboost! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to Steem Community @birthdayboost! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

So — filled out the application, but I couldn’t view the calendar either; had to request access, which meant revealing my email address. As soon as I did that, my alarm bells started going off.

I realized I have no idea who’s launching this initiative — yet now I’ve given you two valuable pieces of information; my birthdate, and email (which I very rarely divulge.) Had I not followed a link shared by a friend whom I trust, I’d likely have been more discerning. Really — there sure are a lot of links to click, with not one word about who you are or why we should trust you.

Seems like a lovely idea. Yet — on a platform crawling with phishing scams — I think it might be wise to give a bit more context about who’s behind this — what inspired it — who’s supporting this initiative.

The only clue is your screenshot sample of delegating via steemconnect. As someone who’s worked in photoshop for nearly 2 decades, I know how easily such things can be falsified. I do hope it’s really you, @sumatranate!

Thanks, Sapphic! I did go check that, but it felt like an important thing to include, rather than making people go searching for info. ;)

Hey @zipporah, I really appreciate your comment and the feedback.

I will be writing a post from my personal account (@SumatraNate) tomorrow so that I can provide more context. I thought the idea was great (celebrating birthdays and building community) but I see that I am missing some key parts that help build trust.

For that I am sorry. Please feel free to continue the conversation in the comments or send me a message via Discord chat. I would appreciate any additional suggestions that you may have.

Relieved that it is you! 😉 Thank you for receiving my feedback so graciously. 🙏🏼 I do agree — it’s a lovely idea and I’d absolutely like to be part of it. Now that I know it’s you, I’ll happily delegate and complete the process.

ps — I still direct many new Steemians to your markdown course. It really is an awesome thing you’ve created. ⭐️

@zipporah, I changed up the post a bit to address some of your concerns. Would you mind giving me feedback about the changes?

Awesome! Perfect additions – more than enough information to inspire trust, while also providing super clear, easy to follow instructions. Well done!

So I did all the things...hopefully my day is actually my day now. ;)

I could not view the calendar, but...
   application submitted!
   15 SP delegated!
   Curation Trail followed!

Thanks,​ @kittygirls. I appreciate you signing up and I look forward to celebrating birthdays with you and others. From some other comments, I realize that I need to simplify​y the process and build additional​ trust. I will be taking those steps in the next day or so.

Hey @thekittygirl! I see your delegation and that you followed the curation trail. Welcome to the party.

Can I ask a favor? The calendar did not work as expected so I changed things up a bit. I hope it makes the process easier in the long run.

Will you please send me an encrypted message with the day you want or send me the information discord message? Instead of using a calendar that everyone can see, I will x out any dates that have been chosen.

Message sent via Discord DM!

all over this, cross my fingers no one has my birthday.

Good luck with this. :)

@sapphic, Thanks for signing up. My personal account is @SumatraNate. I wanted to let you know who was behind the @birthdayboost project. I will be reaching out to you soon to get some suggestions on how I can make the process easier.

Excited to celebrate birthdays with you!

Hey @sapphic! I see your delegation and that you followed the curation trail. Welcome to the party.

Can I ask a favor? The calendar did not work as expected so I changed things up a bit. I hope it makes the process easier in the long run.

Will you please send me an encrypted message with the day you want or send me the information discord message? Instead of using a calendar that everyone can see, I will x out any dates that have been chosen.

all done and dusted :)

Me too.

0.001 with memo sent.
Delegated 15sp.
Followed the curation trail.

I always love birthday but this time I use my Steemit birthdate. 12 December 2017.

HOPE you get my application.

Welcome to the party. We are glad to celebrate Steem birthdays too! Let's keep celebrating together.

I filled out the application but changed my mind so no need to add me. I love this idea for real but feel there were to much information and links to click, so no for me.
And I don't follow trails yet so that I couldn't do here. Mabye someday.

@saffisara, thanks to the message. I would never want you to do anything that you do not feel comfortable with.

Hey, my name is @SumatraNate. I wanted to reach out from my personal account just so you can get an idea of who I am.

Again don't do something you don't feel comfortable with. The voting trail is what helps simplify the process of​ voting for all of the members. I thought of asking people to autovote @BirthdayBoost but that does help with voting for every community member.

If you have any feedback I would appreciate it. I want to make the process as easy and comfortable as possible for members/potential members.

Hey @sumatrante!
I appreciate you reaching out and I have to say I love your idea a lot and I guess that the email thing got me a little bit.. Hmm.. I never give that to anyone. But I did sign up and I was ready to be a part. Then I understand the trial thing it's just I don't follow any trail one, because I have my voter but my passion is commenting and reading posts engaging so I do much manually.
Second I never got how to follow a trail, was guided but it didn't work so. That's why I backed out. I do think this idea is great so I wish you the best of luck. Happy Monday! 🌻

Ahoy! Very cool idea, so I signed up. Hope me bday ain't taken yet!

Hey @reverendrum! I see your delegation and that you followed the curation trail. Welcome to the party.

Can I ask a favor? The calendar did not work as expected so I changed things up a bit. I hope it makes the process easier in the long run.

Will you please send me an encrypted message with the day you want or send me the information discord message? Instead of using a calendar that everyone can see, I will x out any dates that have been chosen.

Not sure how to do that, exactly... Is there a Discord to use?

Being on Discord (www.discordapp.com) is not required to have a Steem Blog but there are a lot of Steem communities that communicate via Discord.

  • Once you create an account, click on Find or Start a conversation. (Top of the screen, left hand side)
  • Enter birthdayboost and click return or enter.
  • Then send me a message with the month and day you want

OR

You can send an encrypted Steem wallet message. I included instructions for that in the this post.

Finished. Much obliged, matey!

I confirmed your date with a message from Steem wallet. Welcome to the party!

Congratulations @birthdayboost! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56