My first post - Introduction and Pizza

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone
I am new to Steemit and posting my first post. I am hoping to post quite a few articles about pizza, as it is one of my favourite food subjects.
It all started a few years ago when I was making ready pizza (frozen in a box from supermarket) in my home oven. It came out ok but I started to wonder how difficult it would be to create your own. After all it was only bread with tomatoes and cheese, so how hard could it be?
I got a normal pizza dough recipe from a friend and also watched various YouTube videos on how to make it and cooked my first pizza’s. I have to admit that even though it was not very good, it was way better than any pizza I bought from the supermarket and I would recommend anyone having a go at making your own.
After months of practise and baking, I realized that there were many variables in making the dough and ultimately, pizza. It really fascinated me and I got hooked.
It stated to become and obsession when I went out for pizza at a place called Franco Manca in London and that just blew me away. They specialize in sourdough pizza. Natural fermentation of the dough which gives it a different taste.
That was the first time I had a Neapolitan style pizza and I knew I had to try and recreate it and even better it. It was the simplicity of the pizza and the fantastic taste that I fell in love with. The pizza cooked at a very high temperature in a wood fired oven and the taste was divine.
From that day, I knew that if I wanted to cook a pizza as good as that, then I had to invest in a wood fired oven at home. I did not want to spend a lot of money, so I decided to build one myself in my back garden. I invested about 280 pounds and build it with help of my sons. It came out ok and I have been cooking in the oven for a couple of years now and my pizza’s are spectacular.
After lots of research – trial and error - I perfected a recipe that use natural fermentation to ferment the dough. It just gives it a unique taste. I was so confident that my pizza was now the best that I have ever tasted, that I enrolled myself for the world pizza championships in Parma, Italy.
After enrolment I realized that I would not be taken seriously if I did not do a course at least, that will give me some accreditation in pizza making. Most people there would be professional pizzaiolos (pizza makers) after all.
I enrolled in a course in Naples (the birth place of pizza) at a place called “The True Neapolitan Pizza Association (Associazione Verace Pizza Napoletana, AVPN)”. http://www.pizzanapoletana.org/index_eng.php
The course was 10 days. I would really recommend it to anyone who is serious about learning how to make pizza. I also frequented most of the city’s pizza restaurants and will do a series of posts about the pizza that I tasted at the restaurants in lovely Naples. I even worked (as part of the course) for one day, in what is believed to be the first pizza restaurant in the world - Antica Pizzeria Port'Alba - Naples. What an experience and the staff there were just fantastic!
A few weeks later I entered in the world pizza championships in Parma. I came about joint 50th in the Pizza Napoletana STG category out of 72 people. I was probably the only amateur there and even though I made some silly errors (nervous and inexperience), I was quite pleased with what I achieved.
http://campionatomondialedellapizza.it/
Please lookout for my next articles on how to make the pizza and my ratings of the best pizza restaurants in the world.
Thanks for reading!

Pizza Oven, Oven, Fire, Wooden Oven

Pizza, Pizzeria, Food, Alimentari

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @blom! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Loading...

Interesting read! I can see you're new here so welcome to the great community of steemit. This deserves an upvote and rock on!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those big upvotes on my posts so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

WELCOME ...Here is a complete guide to Steemit success that how can you grow your earnings and followers fastly
https://steemit.com/steemit/@rajag234/complete-step-by-step-guide-to-steemit-success
follow plz @rajag234

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62