Greetings Traveler! I'm Jean, And It's A Pleasure To Meet You!


Hi Steemit! =D First Post, First everything, but sure here we gooo! Adventure Time!

Where Introductions Begin

I actually was introduced to Steemit on Facebook via a third party commenting on a page I'm keeping an eye on. Once I'd stopped by a few days back and had a read up I thought I might as well drop in, see what's going on, and try something new. A lot of things have ended, but that means there's more room for new things to begin and I'm more than excited to learn.

Lets Get Creative, And Share The Results!

After some careful thought I'd like to use Steemit, and by extension D-Tube, to share the things I'm passionate about and to a certain extent I hope to be able to use Steemit to build a network of information and sources I can use to further the things I enjoy.

Sharing my enjoyment with the rest of the world is the best way I know how to make things a better for everyone I come across. Among these plans are to upload my Mixer Streams, keep track of Kareo tutorials, post how-to's and critiques on various recipes, review my hoard of books, and show off my crocheting and crafting skills.

Personally...

I turned 28 on January 12th and currently live in Kansas. I prefer He/His/Him pronouns and I'm married but we're in an open relationship due to my spouse's job being with the USAF. I currently live with my best friend, business partner and co-conspirator of 10+ years Sigilmancy, or Nox as she's known some places, and together we manage three rats, two cats, and a fluffy husky dog who is in training to be my mobility assistance animal. I'm a big Gamer, Crafter, Reader, Writer and I've done some pretty decent traveling in my life time.

Gamer, Crafter, Reader, Writer

Gaming

I've played a lot of games from Runescape and World of Warcraft, all the way up to playing in the recent open Beta weekend of The Darwin Project. I currently play a lot of Minecraft, Stardew Valley, and Slime Rancher and I'm actively involved in helping Chronicles of Elyria get off the ground and running. You can occasionally catch me streaming over here on my Mixer, or more often you can hear me in the background Tuesday and Thursdays over here on Sigilmancy's Mixer channel when we play together after I get home from work.

Crafting

I am mostly into Crochet, though I've done a few things with scrap booking, miscellaneous craft kits, rug hook kits, etc. I find crocheting and crafting comforting and relaxing and a break from reality most days. I'd love more platforms on which to share my work and collaborate and educate others on how to find joy in doing the same with their work.

Yarn is my favorite thing ever and that is more than noticeable enough if you just have a look around my house. In what should be our dinning room, stacked in the living room, tucked away on my bed, stuffing my closet to the brim. I should really get pictures of this...

Sigilmancy and I have an Etsy we've dubbed the Runed Beanie, however after our adventures trying to sell locally we haven't yet found the time to re-upload everything that didn't sell during our travels in 2017. I'm currently working on a few test patterns and projects that once completed will allow me to restock the shop.

Reading

Having Dyslexia didn't make reading, or writing, very easy for me when I was younger and still makes it challenging for me 20+ years later. I do however love to do both whenever and however I can. I'm an avid reader and can go as fast as a standard sized 400-500 page novel in about 8 hours if I'm enjoying it. I prefer science fiction and fantasy over anything else, but I've read historical non-fiction, a few autobiographies, a few cook books, and a ton of how-to books among other things.

I got into advance reader books when I was in high school where we would get books that companies wanted reviews on before they were distributed to book stores. I found that absolutely wonderful and still have a good number of the ARC/galley books I collected during that time and would love to figure out how to get books like that again to put out reviews on, but for now I'll settle for the ones I've got on my shelf, and the thousand plus I've got sitting in storage.

Writing

I'm no Edgar Allen Poe, but I do love writing as much as I love reading. I find that it's a better means of expressing myself over talking verbally, even in person. I started text based role playing back when I was about eight years old and have been doing it off and on since then across multiple sites, most of which are now closed or dead, and with multiple people, which have now dwindled to a small group. You can most often find me over on Star Army with the Wayward crew, or hanging out on discord with my roommate Sigilmancy.

Speaking of Sigilmancy & Co.

They're My Roommates

Sigilmancy and I have been friends for what feels like forever, then she moved in with me earlier this year. Can't say it's been all sunshine and roses, but hey! that's what happens in a relationship. We stream together, we roleplay together, we work together and we live together.

We've got six fur babies, our three Jumbo Rats (not pictured) Zevran, Dorian and Iron Bull. We've got our two cats Tobias "Toby/Toebeans" Hawke and Crow the Inquisitor, and my mobility dog in training, a Siberian Husky by the name of Fenris.

Between us? The cats are probably the best models I've had out of our furbabies.


That's It Folks, Thanks For Coming!

It's 10:40 PM as I'm wrapping this post up and I've been up since 4:15 AM this morning without napping which is quite the feat for me, aka hella spoon killer, so I'm going to call it a night and post up Sigil's biscuit recipe on Saturday and likely my first thoughts on my new job sometime tomorrow. 

And A Thank You Too!

There are several people I'd like to drop a quick thanks to for various posts I read up on that have really helped me get a better feel for Steemit and how to get started.

Questions, Comments, Suggestions?

I know I didn't cover nearly as much as I'd like to have given the late hour I started this post so I'm up for an AMA in the comments section if you've got questions. I'd also be happy to head off and explore any suggestions others have in regards to other posts I may not yet be aware of.


If you really must I suppose you can find me on Facebook, Discord (Baird#8606) or Twitter

( As a note; I don't accept friend requests unless I know where you're coming from and why ^^ <3 )


Once again, Thank you all for stopping by, and I do hope to see you on the next one!

Sort:  

Oh, great introduction and nice photos as well. Welcome to steemit and best regards to your pets actually I have two lovely cats named Oreo and Bacon. =)

Oreo and Bacon huh? Sounds absolute edible :P Hehehe! Do you have pictures of your furbabies?

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome ! Where is the name "blubeanijean" coming from? Just made that up?

Blue Beanie Jean actually comes from combining a long (16+ years) nickname I got, with my middle name. I was known by a group of friends, for my actions regarding pretending to be a hat, as Ben Hat, which turned into Blue Hat, and finally into Blue Beanie "Hat" by the time that particular forum/group of friends was "dying".

Why do you pretend to be a hat?

For Fun =D I like role playing, which sometimes involves becoming inanimate objects and doing silly things.

welcome to steemit and cant wait to see more post!

Thank you for the warm welcome! =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66