I'm @kommienezuspadt and @customnature's mom and a new Steemit investor!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit! My name is Bonni. I am currently living in rural Pennsylvania with my husband, a dog, a chicken and a chinchilla. I am a technology enthusiast and (an almost 57 year old) mother of two, and they are why I’m here. My boys, @kommienezuspadt and @customnature stumbled across Steemit last summer. Talking with them, I’ve learned enough about the platform and blockchain that I’ve decided to join the community and explore Steemit for myself.

2017 has been a tough year thus far. I was diagnosed with Type II Diabetes just about a year ago. In February 2017, I lost my mom. Many of her complications were a result of an unhealthy lifestyle. Right now I’m in a transition time of my life. My mom’s passing has resulted in me facing the areas of my life I’ve wanted to change for a long,long time.

My oldest son, @kommienezuspadt, his girlfriend @vermillionfox and I have all acquired Apple Watches in the last year. The watches have become an integral part of documenting and motivating exercise workouts for all of  us. The workout sharing has proven surprisingly effective in getting all three of us to regularly meet our goals.

In addition to exercising and dieting, I’ve also committed to seeing more of the world. I love where I live. It’s my comfort zone, nestled in the mountains of Pennsylvania. In the last few years, however, my husband and I have been making the effort to see and experience those places we’ve always “talked” about going to visit. In the last couple years, we’ve gone to South Carolina and Maine. Later this year, we’ll be venturing to Williamsburg, Virginia.


This past weekend I got a wild hair and decided I wanted to go kayaking down the Susquehanna River. My son @customnature brought his fiancee's two kayaks which he and my brother used, and my husband and I rented two. It was my first time and I loved it. It will not be the last time I go kayaking!

School is another new facet of my life. I’m pursuing a degree in Office Information Technology. Furthering my education, knowledge and experience in life is proving to be a tremendous amount of work while still managing a high stress, high paced career in the security field, but it is giving me a sense of accomplishment that can’t be taken away once I graduate next year. When I receive that diploma, I’ll know, without a doubt, I earned it.

Steemit is a part of this journey of self discovery and willingness to explore new frontiers. I have no doubt that @kommienezuspadt’s affinity for tech that lead him to discover Steemit is a direct result of my love for gadgets, games, electronics and web technologies. I want to be a part of something that offers more than Facebook. A community that enriches my life and my future. Not only will I be posting blogs here, I’m investing in STEEM. I’m buying my STEEM POWER tonight; and hope to watch it grow with the blockchain.

Sort:  

Welcome on Steemit @bonni! Have fun!

Thank you @teamsteem. A little overwhelmed at the moment, but I'll get there :)

welcome aboard. enjoy steemit!

Welcome To Steemit!
Its really awesome to see sons bringing their parents into steemit!
I did the same thing with my mom hahaha

Congratulations @bonni! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome to the community ma'am :) Following to know more about you

Thank you very much @iamsgr. I appreciate it!

You're very welcome.. Steem on :)

Welcome to Steem it!!
Enjoy the community!!

So far, so good @paradise-found. Thank you!

Welcome to Steem Ma'am.
With a huge age gap I am sure you can share a lot of experience in your life :D

I definitely have the years of experience, thanks @arzee!

THIS! Lots of experience and stories to tell. Always eager to hear. Following you! :)

@bonni bienvenida a Steemit te voto .
sígueme https://steemit.com/@cyclope

Congratulations on your first post Mimi!

Hi Bonni,

Welcome to Steemit.

I wish I could ask my mom to enjoy the platform. I also wish development of a regional Steemit in the future.

I want to be a part of something that offers more than Facebook.

I think you will enjoy this place. I have made more new friends here than I could imagine, sharing a common interest.

Wish you more and more success here. Have fun. And good luck buying more STEEM POWER... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67336.19
ETH 3695.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71