Developers Burnout, Sensory Deprivation Tanks and Lamb Shanks

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steem community!

My name’s Brandon and this is my #introduceyourself post!

WhatsApp Image 2018-08-20 at 23.49.29.jpeg
Photo creds: (instagram.com/tnz_aesthetix)

Uh, yeah, this is me, mid conversation with person taking this photo for Steemit, saying something like "Steemit's not like that bro, hear me out, its different! (giggles)"

Im 25 years old, I live in Cape Town, South Africa. I have a career in software development, I am working toward finishing my degree in software as well. I also have a few software projects that I am working on with a couple of other developers on the side of all this - some of which I will post about as they near completion in the future.

I have an interest in a variety of things such as Software (ofcourse), Cryptocurrency (gotta get that STEEM yo), crypto and forex trading (technical analysis tips and tricks are my favourite), music, travel, food, hiking and other outdoor adventures!

With that in mind, my feed will consist of mostly random events that stem from the above interests. The content I post will be be focused more around documenting than content creation.
The content will be inspired by whatever is around me, wherever I might be at the time of writing - if I think it’s cool, I’ll post about it and share it!
[essentially, I’ll just be myself at the end of the day:)]

So as part of my first post, I’d actually like to talk about something developers may experience in their careers, and share a method I have learnt this past weekend to remedy the situation if you find yourself in a similar state in your life.
The sensation I wanna talk about is called “Developer’s Burnout” (Quite a few articles on the subject if you google it).

Despite the name, I think anybody can experience a burnout.
For me, juggling student life, work life and side project goals all together for the last year and a half, developers burnout is no stranger to me. Over time I have become better at recognising it and managing it to ensure I can recover before it gets all too hectic.

The end of last week had me feeling like I was headed for a burnout and I was in search of something to help me relax. I’ve tried simple things like sitting in a cinema and just chilling out, going for a drive with a couple friends, or just going out for a run. Some would suggest sleep, but many a time I found myself laying staring at the ceiling for 2-5 hours, with my mind racing about how I could solve a problem in one of the many things I was working on at the time hahaha… And the problem with all the above (except sleeping) is that they all require some kind of physical or mental investment into getting the rewards out of them, which is not ideal when you’re burnt out as you might imagine.

So, under advisement of one of my colleagues at work, I went and visited a place called FLOATZERO in Cape Town, at 15 on Orange Hotel.
Float Zero is a company that provides sensory deprivation tanks for clients to relax, destress, unwind. As they say on their site “A simple way to achieve profound relaxation, meditation & wellness”

Sounds like just what I need right?

So I got there, and was assigned my own private float room and all, where I was instructed to take a shower and get comfortable before getting into the tank pictured below:
IMG_6296.jpg

IMG_6297.jpg

You’re given the option to have relaxing music play while you’re floating or you could be in complete silence (the way it should be, although, I opted for the music for some really odd reason… anyway…).

Not expecting too much from the experience, I hopped into the tank, shut the tank door, pushed a button to start the session and off I went. The water temperature was about body temperature, I closed my eyes and just floated around in there for 45 minutes.

After finishing, I took another hot shower, and thereafter, my oh my……

My body was so relaxed, it felt like I had just come out of a thorough massage or like I had been sitting in a hot jacuzzi for a couple hours. My mind was now clear and I felt really chilled, like this was the best week of my life!

When I got out of the float room, I was offered a pot of tea from a selection of teas they had in a lounge area upstairs, where guests can relax, read a book and zone out after their session:

IMG_6307.jpg

IMG_6306.jpg

IMG_6304.jpg

I had some of the forest berry tea and sat around for another 15 minutes before getting a ride to my next destination for the evening - supper with my immediate family at the Protea Fire and Ice Hotel, where I enjoyed a lovely lamb shank with some red wine before heading home

IMG_6312.jpg

Wow... WHAT A DAY!

It was such an awesome experience to have visited float zero and would definitely do it again!
Float tanks are an awesome way to completely disconnect from the world for a bit and regain some energy after being strained for a period of time.
It's by far the best method I have tried so far and would recommend you give it a try.

Let me know what you guys think about this post/the float tanks/the food.
Feel free to ask questions, and show this post some love!

Sort:  

Brandon! How are you.
Welcome !Welcome

follow for you!

Welcome to the community man, truly found the post quite fun to read with the pictures adding that extra boost.

#savethedeveloper

Lol pretty epic intro post and the pics are on point! But as for the sensory deprivation tanks all I’m saying is if your 11 ass is playing around in the upside down world and opening up passages for the demigorgan I’m saving no one!

Posted using Partiko iOS

LOLed at "opening up passages for the demigorgan"

Welcome to steemit & best of luck for future endeavors.

Welcome to Steemit! Great intro. I actually just heard about these things and that is awesome you did it. Seems like next level relaxation, makes me really want to try it now.

Thanks! And Indeed it is! I think you should definitely try it. I was kinda worried at first, coz the name sounds scary haha, but naah, quite the opposite! let me know when you go! :)

Hey brandonmay! If you would like to see what the current trending content and topics on the internet are consider following @coffeebreak and @topicstoday accounts to make your personal feed more fun and informative.

Welcome to Steem, @brandonmay!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3390 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Congratulations @brandonmay! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Welcome, I think it's great that we are getting more people from the software section to join. Software and computer engineers are the way that we can change the future by exposing them to non-traditional spheres such as this and crypto. A good way to get followers is via comment sections of larger individuals. I suggest if you are interested in crypto to follow @crypto.piotr he has some great posts and is a good resource to start with.

Burnout is real in so many fields nowadays. There is such a focus on constant work nowadays and less on relaxing; we need to have a good balance between the two. We are only as good as we can be when we are balanced, our work excels when we are able to properly achieve that balance.

Thanks for your comment. I totally agree that a work-life balance is important and we can't be focused on delivering 24/7 coz in reality we're still human! Followed @crypto.piotr and yourself as well :) Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67