Hey SteemIt - ElliottWaveTrader.net Introduced Me

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello Steemers, my name is Branon. (and no, that's not a typo)

My Details

  • 48
  • Divorced, No Kids
  • Semi-Native Floridian
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Freelance Writer/Editor
  • Swing Trader (Stocks & Crypto)
  • Divemaster
  • Libertarian
  • Travel Enthusiast
  • Ocean Enthusiast

I'm a real estate broker and freelance writer/editor, among other things. I grew up in Fort Lauderdale, but have also lived in a number of other Florida and North Carolina cities. I am in the process of relocating to the Cocoa, Florida area after living the last 4 years on a 32-foot sailboat.

I'm an avid scuba diver, freediver, sailor, kayaker, spearo, and well... just about anything ocean or nature-related. I freelance for DeeperBlue.com as well as other publications, blogs, etc. sometimes as I myself and sometimes ghost-writing for a client. I also handle external communications and marketing for a few select clients and companies (some folks just want to focus on their business and leave the writing, correspondence, and marketing to someone else). In short, I like to write, but real estate pays the bills and affords me a casual schedule.

Oddly enough, I owned the STEEM cryptocurrency for months before I ever heard of SteemIt. I've been trading cryptocurrencies for the last several years, and STEEM popped up on my radar a while back in a post by Ryan Wilday, one of the analysts at ElliottWaveTrader.net who runs the Crypto Service. He's generally my go-to-guy for crypto, so I bought into the coin without knowing much about it. (I know, I know.)

A week or so ago, one of our other members made a comment about earning STEEM on SteemIt, and naturally, I was curious. A quick Google search (Uncle Google knows everything), and I signed up for a SteemIt account. Even before I received my account, I told another writer friend of mine about the site. I hope she joins, you'll enjoy her writing about all things crafty and jewelry. She used to be a guru for HGTV and JewelryTV, and she happens to be hilarious and my travel buddy. I recently introduced her to Key West via a pretty intense Duval Crawl, which one of us is bound to write about. But I digress...

In short, (too late), I'm excited about becoming a member of SteemIt and look forward to writing my own articles, sharing interesting things I find, and meeting and learning about some of y'all (yes, I'm Southern, but without the drawl, racism, or flannel). The attached photo was taken of me at about 50 feet under the water off the coast of Fort Lauderdale during a Level 1 FII Freediving Course. I'll be doing an article on the experience, so stay tuned.

And hey, if you're ever looking to buy/sell/lease/rent/manage real estate in Brevard County, Florida, please reach out and say hello. Maybe I'll even consider accepting STEEM for services.

All the best,

--Branon

Sort:  

Hey @branon! Welcome to this wonderful community!!! You'll meet interesting people here... Write freely and keep steeming :)

@branon, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you an upvote!

Please give me a follow and take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam.
(tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Hi, branon! I wish you the best journey here in this fun-loving community :) Cheers

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to steemit @branon
download.png

Join us on our Steemschool discord
using this link
https://discord.gg/2F74XX9

And get to learn about various niches...
Photography, arts, poetry, business amongst others...

THERE IS A 5000 SBD CONTEST GOING ON

The interesting part is we have people all over the world and we help each other grow...

There are over 6k steemian ready to support your growth on steemit

Best wishes 👏👍

Welcome mate! Are you involved with any ocean conservancy activities? I would like to donate but I am unsure which organizations are the best to participate and give to...

Hi ChiroCraig! Yes, anyone who is passionate about scuba diving or the ocean is likely involved in some sort of conservation activities. There are plenty of great organizations out there.

Personally, I like http://Reef.org but here's an article that highlights some of the larger organizations: https://www.underseas.com/blog/best-marine-conservation-organizations-donate-earth-day/

One of the biggest things you can do is to stop wearing poisonous sunscreens. Research appears to be pointing toward sunscreens as a major cause of coral bleaching worldwide.

Here's a link to a sunscreen that is actually safe for use in and around the water. For the record, I am not compensated in any way by them, but I have met the owner and have several dive buddies who also know them to be serious, legit scientists with a great product: https://Stream2Sea.com

Cool thanks for the tip!

I have been concerned about the toxic components of sunscreen for many years and how they affect human and ecosystem health. As a result I tend to just use natural oils for the very modest amount of SPF they provide and cycle between reapplying and taking breaks from the sun under shade or with a shirt.

I will most definitely check out this product. Especially if it happens to be cruelty-free I am interested!

edit just went and saw their statement about testing on fish. I get where they are coming from but I also make a very concerted effort to not purchase anything that is tested on live animals.

Hello interesting article! I follow you, and you follow me. Let's develop the power of Steemit together, so we can achieve more! Upvoted your post! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87