Call me Kate

Hello - I'm new here - My friends call me Kathie from Africa
I don't like my name - the "th" part of Kathie, so - call me Kate

I thought I'd introduce you to my old life first.

Born in Rhodesia, which became Zimbabwe - loved my life except for the heat. We lived on the wrong side of the railway line however my parents paid for my private education at a sought-after Bulawayo school. They did not do me any favors. I had home friends and school friends. My school friends weren't allowed to play on the other side of the tracks, so my home friends are still amongst my besties. I had a home life and a school life.

When Ian Smith stepped down as Prime Minister, we stayed a few more years and then immigrated to South Africa - with a caravan, $2000 Zim dollars in our bank account and some furniture. We moved to Cape Town, the most beautiful city in the world. A few years later I met and later married Keith, had two daughters, Maxi and Sam and was a successful real estate agent and entrepreneur. My husband was a real estate property developer. We had a good life living in the Stellenbosch Winelands, behind electrified security fences with thermal cameras and security beams, in a secure estate with 24 hour armed guards to protect our community and our to give us a free lifestyle - well sort of... The two pictures below are of Table Mountain - one from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and the other from The Rondebosch Common. The University of Cape Town is the building you can see on the side of the mountain. Cape Town from Rondebosch Common.JPG

IMG00203-20110213-1707.JPG

We were lucky to have vacationed all over the world, we ate in the best restaurants, had nice cars and wanted for nothing - except security, which Africa failed to provide. Everyone knows someone who's been murdered. Some of us know a few. We all lived in fear. Some of us have been attacked, we all have been burgled. After a trip to United States to see Tony Robbins and attend an NAR convention - my Filipino cab driver told me to enter the Green Card "Diversity" lottery - which I duly did and here I am with my husband, one suitcase each ('cause we didn't know we were allowed 2)- living in America. It's called adapt or die.

I can live in America, even if our wealth is depleted due to exchange rates and cost of living. We have a small 2 bedroom house. My husband owns a food truck and I am learning to earn online and a few other entrepreneurial bits. Life has changed. I don't have a fence around my home, I can walk freely in the streets and I don't have to worry that someone is going to attack us at the traffic lights. It's amazing. That is called living - almost.

I do miss home - I miss my kids, my friends, and my lifestyle - the thing I miss the most are the wild animals and the bush. I wanted to share that with you. A little "taste" of Africa. I took these photos at The Kruger National Park. A trip like this should definitely be on your bucket list - it's so magical - otherworldly - Spiritual almost. It's hard to believe that people would kill these majestic animals and mount these magnificent heads on their wall.

I love to travel, so when I scrape a few beans together I'll share some more of South Africa and other magic moments with you - if you are interested.

Its great to be part of the community - See ya around and Happy Thanksgiving - and I have so much to be Thankful for!

IMG_7868.JPG

IMG_7881 (1).JPG

P1016636.JPG

IMG_7894.JPG

P1016621.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

good pictures ,,, but you could post one at a time you won more, I am the first follower

Oh, that's a great tip! Thank you! I'll remember that for next time :)

Welcome Kate! I am glad you found steemit and welcome to America! I know it must be hard to reinvent life in such a different place and i applaud your courage in emigrating west. Thank you for sharing your history. I hope you and your husband have much success. Upvoted and followed! @dakini5d

Thank you dakini5d - I appreciate you - its all new to me :)

Hi and welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here. Enjoy your time and good luck!

Thank you - I appreciate it.

Welcome to Steemit! Thank you for introducing yourself and sharing your journey, I really enjoyed reading it and it is amaazing. You have quite the strength to move to America and I am happy you're here, I wish you the best! Zebras are my favorite animal. Very interested in what you have to share, look forward to it! Feel free to follow or contact me if you need anything, great community!

Thank you! Following you!

welcome to steemit have a good time

Thank you - nice to meet you!

welcome on steemit !! you did a really good post !
see ya on steemit @bibitcoin

Thanks so much - following you!

Welcome to steemit. @callmekate
i hope your enjoy this community.
following you now. :D

Hi Kate ... Nice to meet you... Welcome to Steemit..🌹.. This is a nice intro post... I hope you will do great over here as a steemian..😊.. Follow Me @onority
It will be great if you visit and read my blog and upvote them..!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66246.60
ETH 3449.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01