A firm handshake and a confident smile.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

As the timid son of an ardently community-active army marshal, this piece of advice has been imparted to me with inescapable persistence. Fatherly, at the beginning, but with growing condescension as the years went by.

It just won't stick. Why? Because I'm impatient.

The two gestures in question, in conjunction, represent a commitment in groundedness between two people, an acknowledgement of boundaries, and a promise of mutual deference. In short, role-play.
This establishes the rules of the game which, despite restricting the players, ensure a steady progression through a shared and known playing-field.

Unfortunately I never had the social composure to tolerate such a dance: I find myself probing and twisting my stick right away, hoping to trouble the waters just enough to catch a twitch under the mud.
This is obviously an invitation for my interlocutor to do the same, but not always it's received as such.

This doesn't mean I'm impolite, on the contrary, I'm sure your grandma would love me.

img.jpg

"That's a long-winded way to say you're bad with introductions!"
Probably! But not just that. It's also a quick way to find some other water-troublers, and man, is Steemit good for that.

A huge thanks to @kadavy for introducing me to the platform. He's a gifted writer and thinker, and you should check out his work if you haven't already.

Anyway, enough faffing around.
My name is Calo Amico, and I'm an Italian writer and content developer based in Bristol, UK.

I'm the founder of Writ In Dust, a platform devoted to the written word in all of its forms.
There I'd like to host and produce all sorts of content related to all sorts of media.

logo banner.jpg

I want to create something with this community, bringing back in vogue a deeply rewarding form of expression that's been overshadowed by more easily digestible and eye-catching ones.
I truly believe the two can work in tandem; writing can survive and proliferate within the current entertainment landscape.

Let's spill some ink together!

Get in touch:
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Hi, calo! I wish you a very exciting experience here on Steemit! All the best

Welcome! I'm so thrilled that I could help you discover Steemit!

Creating is the best thing ever.

welcome to steemit, hope you can give information and good work and steemit users to support all activities in this steemit.
you can also visit my account, to know me and become a good friend

@calo, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Please take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam. (tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

hey @calo

steemitComment.png
We are excited to see you join us here! Steemit is a remarkable platform that is built to reward users for creating quality content. Its a logic called proof of brain.

As for TechChat, think of us as DJs that create tech content instead of music. We create content by looking for the most shocking, interesting, and exciting breakthroughs in the tech space. Basically - we do all the research so you don't have to.

We hope to hear your opinion on TechChat’s content! We always love to hear from our community.

Happy Steeming 🚀

Welcome to Steem, @calo!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2283 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.12 : Rewards Tab.

Hi welcome to the Steemit community! Great place to make friends! I'm following you, please follow me back!


Welcome to Steemit @calo!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59