My Journey Home - Introductory Post

Hello Steemit Community.

My name is Carl John.

Named after my two grandfathers. One adopted, who gave me a love of music
and the other an abusive alcoholic who died before I was even a thought.

In an odd way I always felt like those two names represented my light and my dark sides. It was also the name my parents called me when I was in trouble, which was often.
steemitcj.jpg

I’m here to share my classically flawed hero’s journey with you. It's a catastrophic fall from grace, rebirth and redemption through my hearts calling.

I was a real estate developer, financier, restauranteur and self-made millionaire living Vegas dream. I had purchased a vacation home in Taos, New Mexico with my eye on retirement.

I thought I was the SHIT.

However, Taos is a mystical, artistic and spiritual vortex that had its own plans for me. It was there that I picked up guitar and dove deep into mysticism and the laws of the universe.
24673_109849112387672_7212688_n.jpg

In Taos I began to change and the way I saw the world began to change.

I had a harder and harder time going back to Las Vegas, “popping collars” and living the consumptive egotistical life that I had created for myself.

My dream became that of an artist.

Sometimes the universe sees fit to deliver what is in your heart, but not necessarily in the way that you would like it delivered.

A downturn in the market, a divorce and a custody battle, left me going from multiple homes, a family, and thoughts of retirement, to sleeping on an army cot in a friend’s garage.

Distraught, I set out on the road with a .45 caliber pistol under my seat with thoughts of ending my life by my own hand somewhere on the trail.

The next 10 days were spent on the road, sleeping in my car, driving, blubbering like a hot mess, I even wrote a book about it and this is what I’m going to share.

I did come back from that journey, but I didn’t come back the same.
24673_109849435720973_6276755_n.jpg

Utilizing all of the knowledge that I had absorbed from my studies in Taos, I set out to live my life in a completely new way.

With 3 good guitar chords and nothing to lose, I lept out on an unfamiliar path.

In an insanely short period of time, I ended up opening for Robin Thicke, walking the red carpet and winning a Hollywood Music Award.

I was experiencing magic.
29775_123558281016755_1799271_n.jpg

But I was also losing some battles with demons that had been chasing me my entire life.
With those battles came shame and suffering that stopped me from living my life full out.

Crossing the threshold of fear, and wrestling with the dragons of my early years. I am creating life again, only this time with a new consciousness, a fierce devotion to my craft, and an awareness of a greater purpose in life –
TKK11.png

I am here to uplift, inspire, heal, and connect people around the world through story and song.

I am new to the crypto world and love what this community has to offer. The transparency of the platform and its potential is mind boggling. I am here today to embrace this opportunity to share my journey with you. I am also here to learn from you.

If any of my journey can uplift in a time of suffering, inspire in a time of transition or just make somebody smile along the way, then I’ve done my duty.

I hope to meet you along the way...

Highest & Best,
CJ

Carl John The Journey Home.jpg

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cj_carljohn/?hl=en
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IAmCarlJohn/

Sort:  

Welcome to the community!


Welcome to Steemit @carljohn!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Awesome...Thank you so much for the links

Welcome to steemit community! I hope you're going to love this platform. Good luck with everything, STEEM ON!

Thank you, you too... Steemin' On!

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Thank you.. Im looking forward to it.. I hope to be a great addition.

@carljohn, let me be the first to welcome you to Steemit! Congratulations on making your first post!

I gave you a $.05 vote!

Would you be so kind as to follow me back in return?

thank you so much for your vote

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

Thank you...Looking forward..

Gracias por pasar a formar parte de nuestra comunidad, Saludos.

Gracias que espero poder estar aqui, saludos mi amigo

Welcome to steemit :D i hope you enjoy it here

Thank you.. I'm looking forward to it. I hope to add something worthy of a look...

hi @carljohn Welcome to Steemit Community. Looking forward for your next post. See you around. You can also join in STEEMSCHOOLS discord here https://discord.gg/8CRS4j4 They can help you grow in this steemit community. If you still don't have a discord account. Just register first through the link I gave you. I'm glad to help you. See you there!

Cool...I'll check it out. Thank you. I look forward to it.

Self promotion on other's posts is frowned on. Please read Steemit Etiquette and do not ask for a follow, ever. You are welcome, my friend.

Right on ...Thank you for the pointers.. as a newbie here all of it is appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61